Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Tasted just like pumpkin pie! I'll definitely make this again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Yummy! this IS ever better than pumpkin pie. Super creamy. The squash is easy to deal with if prebaked (halved, seeds scooped out, face down in a baking pan with a little water with a 1/2 inch of water, covered in foil and baked for 1/2 hour at 350*) Then you can just scoop it out and you're ready to puree with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This is the best Pumpkin(squash) Pie I have ever made & I`m an old woman! I have been making pie for 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Well, I scrunched my face up at the thought of 'peeling' squash. That's a pretty hard shell to peel. Since the instructions didn't say to cook it first, I decided the best thing to do was to cut up the squash, and cut away the shell. It worked pretty well, the squash cooked fairly quickly in water. My medium squash (about 2-3 pounds) made plenty - enough for two pies, I'd say. This was my first homemade pie. It turned out very well, tasted just like pumpkin. I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was so delicious. We taste tested three pumpkin pies and this was by far the best!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. This will be the only 'pumpkin' pie I ever make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Fabulous! Definately a hit at the dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Great pie, easy to make, and I got to use my crucible to grind the fresh cloves. I used six and it was a little bit strong but still very good. I made a double pie crust and added a tbl spoon full of vinegar to the crust which is my secret ingredient. Don't ever think spices are as good out of a bottle as fresh ground. I will always use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I loved this pie. It is definitely better than pumpkin pie. You don't need a very big squash to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Hubby liked this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This has got to be the easiest pie in the world to make! And one butternut squash can make about 4 pies. I put a touch of orange extract in it one time and it has a very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States