Better Than Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These had a very nice fruit cake taste. They flattened out more than I would have liked, but perhaps I cut it too thin. Because they turned out thin, they had a nice crispiness. Flavor excellent. I would definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These were a huge hit! They are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delectable and diffrent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
These are better once they sit. Dough is somewhat crumbly - mostly you'll need a very sharp knife to cut through figs/nuts etc. and get nice rounds. If you don't have one, perhaps chill in fridge for a while and then just dollop onto sheets with a spoon. Also, to state the obvious, if you don't like figs, don't make this. But you may like them even if you don't like FRUITCAKE. Good, but not good enough to stay on our Christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I read all the reviews and tried to address people's issues and got a 5-star cookie out of it. I used precut Date Nuggets and countered their dryness by using a few more tablespoons of rum. The apricots weren't bad to cut up. Then in the AM I put half the mixture at a time in a food processor and pulsed it a few times so the fruit was more evenly sized and ultimately easier to slice cleanly into rounds. I also baked them a bit longer. The end result was a huge hit...not sweet and a good addition to a cookie plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Because we can't eat figs, I replaced them with a fruitcake mix. The cookies were delicous..but they didn't last long, so had to make them more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My apologies to the author of this recipe but I found it to be very bland - lacking any definitive taste. I will not bother trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I must have done something wrong because the dough was very crumbly and the cookies were not sweet enough. I used apricots, dates, and rum instead of figs, cheeries, and sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
These cookies have a very flavour. The problem was that no matter what knife I used they would not cut nicely. They kept braking apart.I tried chilling them more and less and it didn't make a difference. Next time I would not bother to roll them but form into cookies. I also used dates instead of figs and added a few chopped apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
While this cookie is extremely tasty, it takes a whole lot of effort and time. It's difficult to chop some of the fruits because they're so sticky. Still, if you want to impress somebody with a good holiday cookie, and you have time, this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States