Better Than Best Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The chicken is very crunchy and has a nice coat to it. At first I was going to give it 3 stars but that is only because I believe the chicken could use alot more "seasoning" my usual fried chicken is very flavorful and has a great amount of spices which is usually the case in African American households. However since different people have different palates I would have to say the chicken is pretty good. I did season the chicken before I started the recipe, but none of the pre seasoning came through. I would suggest to heavily flavor the flour cornstarch mixture if you like a fried chicken with more spices. By the way mix the soup with the egg and seasoning salt in a small bowl, have the chicken in another bowl, after your done mixing the soup with the other ingredients just dump it on the chicken and mix it together then put it in a ziploc bag wih the flour/cornstarch mixture and shake, same principle less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
523 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've made this several times now, the other night we had my mom over (who makes excellent fried chicken!) and she loved it and asked for the recipe! I do add some extra spices to the flour mixture, depending on my mood of the day. I don't find it all that messy to make, probably because I'm a messy cook at the best of times. I usually use a whole chicken cut up instead of just breasts, and toss the pieces in a bag to coat with the soup, then put on a rack over a cookie sheet to drain the excess for a minute or two before the flouring step. Maybe that saves a little mess, but it also works quickly for me. I'm usually cooking for 7 to 10 people, so I'm doing large batches. The bags go in the trash, the rack and cookie sheet go in the dishwasher, so the little mess is no big deal. Use tongs to handle the chicken, you can rinse them when the dough builds up on them and keep your fingers clean at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMOM1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Excellent fried chicken recipe! I used cream of mushroom w/garlic soup and instant mashed potato flakes instead of cornstarch. Also added garlic and onion powder, paprika and a bit of chili powder. Let the chicken sit in the soup mixture for about an hour, then breaded it, let that sit for about 20 minutes. I did not find this messy at all. All batter stuck to chicken and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Very good! The breading was crispy and tasty. Just be aware that you need to let the chicken sit for a while in the breading to get to the right consistency. I waited almost an hour and probably could have waited longer if my family wasn't so hungry! I used chicken tenders and fried them in a deep fryer. They came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I think it is a good idea to *always* make a habit of reading reviews before you make a recipe here. People who have made the recipe will always give you good tips on how to make it even better. I modified this recipe by marinading the chicken breasts in chopped garlic, salt, freshly ground pepper, a bit of olive oil and a touch of white wine for several hours. I used cream of mushroom soup with 1 chicken bullion cube added and then made the recipe as it was written. It was very very tasty and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Loved this recipe. I doubled the recipe & used Skin on Chicken Thighs & legs. I added a pint of Buttermilk to the soup & let it soak for about a half an hour. The skin really plumped up & the chicken inside was very moist. Wondering if you could freeze them afterwards?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
What a fantastic recipe! Being an Englishman I looked across the Atlantic for the best way to produce fried chicken. I have certainly found a winner in this recipe. Everyone loved it. I followed previous advice from other responses and added other spices to the flour mix. I let the mixture sit for an hour before deep-frying. The end result was golden brown, crunchy and delicious! Well done Candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Allright, people, what did you expect? Fried chicken is never easy to make and always messy! Get over it! All in all - the recipe was decent. It was great as far as crispness goes, but a little bland. I've made it twice and the second time, I really added a lot of spices. Turned out great the second time around! Served it with mashed potatoes and fried pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
At last -- chicken that has a crunchy, delicious coating that doesn't come off in the pan! After reading some of the reviews, I decided to spice it up a little by adding some Italian dressing mix to the flour mixture. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Made this tonight for myself and husband. (the kids were asleep). I found it to be pretty good. Obviously NOT kfc, but I don't have the pressure fryer or MSG. But it was one of the Best home recipes I have had. I was worried because we discovered that we didn't have any pepper. (pepper make the spice), I fried it in butter flavored crisco. (I was out of oil too. IT was wonderful and juicy. Another note, I let the chicken stand in the soup mix for like 30 minutes in the fridge while I looked for pepper. Awesome. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States