Better Than Best Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Tried this recipe and it was simple and delicious . Being away from home I can appreciate simple and easy to prepare meals like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
My family and I love this recipe. Each time I mix it up a bit and its awesome every time. To make it crunchier, add crushed corn flakes. I end up using cream of mushroom soup most of the time and it tastes just as good as if you used cream of chicken. I use chicken strip tenders in place of breasts to cut down on cutting,cooking time and mess. I also use peanut oil and it gives it more taste than using vegetable oil. I also don't use a plastic bag for the coating. Instead I use a baking dish and roll it and spoon it over it. It keeps your flour mixture from getting too chunky and moist. Very good recipe, we enjoy it at least twice a month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My husband wanted fried chicken for dinner tonight. The problem is I have never made fried chicken before. I found this recipe and it was a hit! The only change I made was using cream of mushroom soup since that was what I had on hand. The level of seasoning was perfect for our tastes. Definitely must let the coated chicken sit until the coating gets doughy before you fry it up, as the author suggests. Will absolutely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
this recipe was JUST OK! THe crust was super thick and for me...maybe because i can already make great/seasoned fried chicken. The cream of chicken soup did nothing but made everything so much messier. THe key to good chicken is...buttermilk, a generous amount of garlic POWDER, onion POWDER, paprika, Season salt, salt and pepper, all purpose flour. Taste a little of your flour (just a tiny bit on your finger) and season to your preference. Honestly, to get the perfect seasoned chicken, you have to practice making your special floured batter...(do measurements and write it down)...and one day...you will have the perfect batter recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is the best fried chicken recipe that I have ever used and I been making fried chicken for years!! I did add more seasonings (Mrs. Dash, Cavenders seasoning, and "shakes" of plenty of others). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I always read the reviews before I try something new. I like getting the input, so I can make any adjustments I feel needed. After reading the reviews, I marinated the chicken in the soup mix for about 3hrs and I added every spice I could think of and the measurement of each spice was 1/2 tbs. I put salt,pepper,cajun,cayenne,italion,oregano,and garlic seasoning. I probably put a few others that I can't think of. I recommend adding as many spices and possible and a lot of each. Mine turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I brought this to a picnic the other day and all my friends loved it. I did read many of the reviews prior to making this so I did put extra seasoning in the coating (1/2 or 1 tsp of the following: Lawry's seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, Tony's creole seasoning, garlic and herb blend; plus 40 grinds of black pepper). I pretty much put seasonings in until the coating was fragrant enough for my taste. I also marinated the chicken overnight in the cream of chicken with garlic cloves, cayenne pepper, black pepper, the seasoned salt and onion powder added to it (I probably used 1/2 teaspoon of each of the dry spices). Once coated with the dry coating, I placed the chickens on my cookie rack with paper towels underneath for 45 minutes, turned them over and let sit for another 45 minutes before frying. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and deep fried them in peanut oil for 8 minutes. Results were perfect! Chicken was juicy and flavorful and the coating had a great crunch on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Yes, I read the reviews before making this, and YES, I knew that most people found this chicken to be bland. Well, I obviously STILL didn't use enough spices because this chicken was incredibly boring. It's true, the chicken came out moist and the skin was nice and crispy. But we literally had to shake salt on it before EVERY bite. It concerns me that fried chicken requires SO MUCH salt in order to be palatable. I guess I will stick with broiled chicken. I should note that I used chicken that did not have any salt added before packaging. Maybe the people that "love" this recipe are using the kind that has had salt added?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Great Fried Chicken. I have been looking for a dependable recipe that provides great crispy crust, and has a great flavor. My search is over. I did not change a thing from the recipe although I did use chicken with the skin still on. This is my new standard for fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My sister and I made this and it was delicious, moist yet crispy. I didn't have corn starch, so replaced that with a cup of crushed croutons (Fresh Gourmet Caesar croutons). This added extra flavor and crunch. We also fried it in sunflower oil which made it all the more delicious. Next time, we are going to add a little cayenne or crushed red pepper for some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States