Better Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is the best Spanish rice I've had. I used 3/4 can of diced tomatoes and 1/2 a can of chopped green chilies because I didn't have Rotel. I loved the flavor. My husband thought it could use some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Well is it enough to say there was nothing left in the serving dish at the end of the meal? Added the cilantro two or three minutes before the dish was ready to preserve that fresh cilantro flavor. Complimented the Salsa Chicken" recipe very nicely. This will be a family favorite side for any Spanish or Mexican main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Raguckas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Yum! It looked too simple, but it is great. I made with brown rice and a jar of homemade spaghetti sauce, plus garlic powder, and it was terrific - and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elijah Brey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was a great recipe. Fast and easy. I added fresh diced red bell pepper in with the onions and used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. Also added a dash of garlic powder, salt, pepper, chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Just made this tonight. My husband and I both LOVED it! I used beef broth (was out of chicken) & diced tomatoes w/ green chiles. Everything else I did the same. This is now our FAVE rice dish...gonna be our new go to side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnandTracy Nelson Madlena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was very delicious. I forgot to add the cilantro (despite that being the reason I decided to make this in the first place) and it was still tasty. I used Rotel based on other reviews. Next time I will make sure to add the cilantro! I also may play around with adding cumin or habaneros to give another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 757EliasHZ
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Thank you mjhutch for this recipe. I tried other rice recipes on this site, but since I'm a cooking know-nothing, I screwed 2 of them up. This one, though was by far the easiest. Following the super-easy instructions my rice came out perfect! (I used the instant white rice like the recipe asked for. I also added the cilantro at the very end, like someone else suggested.) Next time I made this I altered the recipe as follows: added 1 small can of diced jalapenos and some fresh cut corn kernels, to the rice- tomatoes-broth mix. Then about 1/2 way through the simmering I added 1 cut zucchini. (I added the zucchini late to keep their color and crunchy texture.) This tasted so good and made it so hearty, almost a meal in itself. Being Mexican (that's why I added the japalenos), I know Spanish Rice, and this is among the best I've had! Now everyone is asking me about the recipe and even my mom can't believe I made a spanish rice better than hers! Rename it "Best Spanish Rice!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Not bad. As others recommended I used diced tomatoes w/ green chiles, I added a spoonful of tomato paste to boost the tomato flavor, vegetable broth (to make it vegetarian), a dash of cumin and a little chili powder. It was more flavorful this way and I would probably make this again for a quick throw together side dish. Made it as an accompaniment to the Delicious Black Bean Burrito recipe from this site, which I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
was really good and easy to make... the kids even helped... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very good recipe. The only thing I did different was instead of the tomatoes I used a can of ROTEL Chili Fixin's for a little extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States