Better Slow Cooker Robust Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I was just wondering, if someone changes the recipe, by REMOVING four of the ingredients, and then adding an ingredient that is NOT on the recipe, how can there be a bad rating? THAT was not the recipe listed. Maybe people would like it if they followed the recipe. I do not know the person who created this recipe, I was just searching for one. And SO many times I see bad reviews, on the recipe but it had been 'adjusted'. They just gave their OWN cooking a bad review, right? (Opening a can of worms, Hmmm?) Sorry, just my 2 cents
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPCHEFCLAUDINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matamoras, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
A very good recipe. I dropped the olives and exchanged the dry chicken gravy mix for the same amount of Lipton Cup-A-Soup Cream of Chicken instant soup mix, same quantity. The main reason was because all of the gravy mixes had MSG and I refuse to add that to my food. Secondarily it ended up giving it a better flavor and a slightly thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
not a bad recipe ....may tend to be salty because of the gravy mix and olives ...try his: #1 rinse off the olives before adding and #2 add a cut potato to the crock, the potato absorbs some of the saltiness (this is a GREAT tip for all sauces that have ended up too salty)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
We loved this recipe. How can anyone change 3-4 ingredients and then rate the recipe. Get real folks, make the recipe as listed THEN rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I made a few changes to this recipe and I was so happy with the results, the most important one was thickening the gravy which I thought was too thin by adding cornstarch and water and turning the crock pot on high for a few minutes after the dish was cooked. I used whole chicken breasts instead of cut into strips and they came out so tender. Also nixed the bacon bits. It was VERY delicious, healthy and hearty. I used a little less vinegar than the recipe called for and chose a quality balsamic vinegar. Served over rice, magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
My husband and I didn't care for this recipe. Cooking time is WAY TOO LONG. I think 2-3 hours would be plenty. There was also too much vinegar and my husband did not like the olives. I would cut vinegar in half and then add 1 T sugar to cut the tartness of the tomatoes. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Excellent, just as the original recipe is written. You can substitute skinless/boneless chicken thighs for chicken breast, I have found this to be (maybe) even better and also more economical. Either way it is a very nice, rich tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
If you like pickled things, you will like this recipe. As for me and my family... yuck! And yes I followed the recipe exactly. I love things cooked in wine especially red wine, but I think the vinegar and green olives were over the top for me. I shall try some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was AWEFUL!! WAY too much wine. The chicken while tender, was a yucky grayish color, and tasted like red wine. I threw it out after 2 bites and my boyfriend and I ordered a pizza. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
We Love Green Olives, however, this is the first & Last time I'll slow cook them. Why do people change so many things in the recipe & then rate the recipe that they used? I made this recipe exact except for less cooking time. Chicken was very tender but we could not handle the overbearing olive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States