Better Slow Cooker Robust Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I really liked this dish. I made a few modifications to it.. maily because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used a regualr borwn gravy instead of chicken gravy. I didn't have any red wine, and wasn't able to get to the store (plus I don't LIKE red wine) so I used a blush wine instead and adjusted the amount so that the juices covered the meat to keep it from drying out. I served it over rice... but was wishing I had some pasta or mashed potatoes for the "gravy". Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Good recipe but a little less spicy than we like. I added chipolte powder and it had a lot of kick to it. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Really tasty...I think I'd up the other ingredients to make a sauce for pasta. I love green olives so I'll be putting more in next time along with more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WWWEBGURLIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I didn't care for this. I think the red wine made it seem like the meat used should have been beef. The flavor was good, but the texture of the chicken in the dish didn't seem right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is absolutely delicious!!! I put it over rice and just loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I have made this twice and I really love it. It even tastes good left over the next day. I use black olives instead of green and cook my own bacon instead of bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This recipe is unique, that is what drew me to it. I've found some different recipes that end up becoming some of my favorites. Unfortunately, this is not one. I cooked it for half the time suggested by the submitter and the chicken was perfect, tender, not dry. But I HATED the sauce. It turned an unappealing prunish color and just tasted way too much like wine. And the green olives gave it a bad taste (and I LOVE green olives). This is one you will love or hate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I never had green olives cooked for eight hours but they overtook everything in this dish. I would maybe try again but leave out the green olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wittenberg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
The sauce was good but the chicken was dry and didn't pick up any of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
My husband and I loved this recipe but our teenagers weren't so wild about it. I will definitely make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghostlibrarian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States