Better Slow Cooker Robust Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I didn't have all the ingredients on hand so I changed a few things. I used kalamata olives instead of green, used the juice from the olives instead of the vinegar and replaced the wine and gravy mix with 3/4 cup water, 2 Tbsp. chicken base and 3-4 Tbsp. flour. I served it with white rice and peas and it went over very well with my family of 5 (kids 11 and under). I suspect this probably changes the taste of the original quite a bit but for those of us that don't have wine and balsamic vinegar on hand these changes work quite well, in my opinion. :o) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I didn't care too much for this recipe and the kids were pretty bored with it. I guess it was too different for them. They are all under 10. Not a kiddie food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Easy and delicious! I didn't have green olives or bacon bits but didn't seem to be missing anything. I added garlic because I put it in everything. I cooked it on high for 3 hours and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is easy and pretty tasty, but not one of my absolute favorites. The way you rate this will purely be based on your tastebuds..there's nothing wrong with the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Didn't use olives or bacon bits, but it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This just didn't work. I reeked of red wine -- no subtlety of flavor. I was able to salvage the chicken by burying it into casseroles, but eating the chicken by itsself was not an option for anyone in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I know it really annoys some people when reviewers change the recipe around, but part of cooking is altering recipes to your tastes and what you have on hand. I always read the reviews to see what changes people may have made to improve the recipe. That being said, I was afraid this recipe would be too salty and acidic so I did change it. I used white wine, left out the olives and bacon, used 2 tablespoons yellow mustard, and half balsamic vinegar/half rice wine vinegar because rice wine vinegar is milder. I also used 1/2 pound fresh mushrooms and it turns out my packet of chicken gravy mix was half the size the recipe required. I'm glad I made the changes because while I didn't think it was too strongly flavored, my boyfriend did and I'm sure he would have hated it if I'd use the regular ingredients. It was pretty tart and acidic anyway, but I like that. I will make this again using the right amount of chicken gravy mix and whole chicken breasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very flavorful. I really liked it but my youngest did not! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Delicious! Very strong flavor so it is not for folks that like bland food. But my husband, a very picky eater, declared it "awesome!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Boneless chicken breasts take a mere fifteen minutes to poach, so if you're going to make this recipe, you might as well save the hassle of getting out your slow cooker and doing it right on top of the stove. To give the dish more flavor, I used bone in chicken legs and thighs which I browned first. I had leftover gravy which I wanted to get rid of, so I used that in lieu of the gravy mix. I had unexpected company last night and altho I was a little nervous due to the many mixed reviews, I must say that I was proud to serve this. My company loved it and so did my family. Thank you Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States