Better Peanut Butter Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I am 66 and have been eating this all of my life.. When I was a kid and was sick my Mom would grill a crunchy PB and mayo sandwich on plain ole white bread and serve it with a glass of icy cold milk. Today whenever I make one I want to put on my flannel jammies and wool socks so I can have this extreme comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I'll try anything with peanut butter because I love the stuff so much, but this just wasn't so good. Don't get me wrong I love applesauce too but I think these two things are best off separate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is good, especially toasted. I kind of prefer apple butter (you can get it without sugar), but my kids liked this. They also liked having a little extra applesauce on the side to dunk the sandwich in. For those with wheat allergies, this translates well if you are using spelt bread--the spelt bread is able to withstand the extra moisture from the applesauce better than wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I did not care for this sandwich. It tasted a bit too dry, so I ended up dipping the sandwich in more applesauce. The combination of these two ingredients in a sandwich just didn't suit my taste. I'm sorry I wasn't able to give this recipe a good review, but I am glad to see others enjoyed the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good, but I prefer classic PB&J sandwiches. After reading other reviews, I mixed the applesauce with the peanut butter ahead of time, then took the extra precaution of lightly toasting the bread to keep the applesauce from making the bread soggy. After mixing with the peanut butter, it would've been fine on untoasted. I used honey wheat, which is sturdier than your average white bread. If you'd like a less sweet PB&J sandwich, this is definitely what you're looking for. Glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have not eaten this combination as a sandwich, but for years my husband and I have made toast with peanut butter and applesauce(that is cold from the refrigerator). Cinnamon applesauce, I might add! It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Always a favorite in our family! We have used peanut butter and applesauce on sandwiches for years...as well as on pancakes and waffles. Best toasted and thicker bread....and does help on toast to kinda mix pb and applesauce together so it doesn't run off...as it is slippery. But so very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gorbino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temple City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've used both cinnamon and regular applesuace for these, but the cinnamon is better. I wasn't sure if I would like this, but it's a new favorite now and makes a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
One of my favorites. I suggest using Dave's Killer bread, toasting your bread, use either natural peanut butter or almond butter and either homemade or organic cinnamon applesauce. This is both my kids' and my favorite. Great breakfast food to jumpstart your day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I really loved this sandwich! It was really early in the morning, so I couldn't COOK anything, as I'd wake everyone. I was also craving something I couldn't place my finger on. When I came upon this recipe I had to try it! Though I used natural peanut butter, natural apple sauce, and whole grain bread. I loved it, it was exactly what I wanted! Especially since I don't like regular jelly with peanut butter. Definitely a sandwich I will be making in the future, it's a great tasting sandwich that can be good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States