Better Peanut Butter Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good, but I prefer classic PB&J sandwiches. After reading other reviews, I mixed the applesauce with the peanut butter ahead of time, then took the extra precaution of lightly toasting the bread to keep the applesauce from making the bread soggy. After mixing with the peanut butter, it would've been fine on untoasted. I used honey wheat, which is sturdier than your average white bread. If you'd like a less sweet PB&J sandwich, this is definitely what you're looking for. Glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I'll try anything with peanut butter because I love the stuff so much, but this just wasn't so good. Don't get me wrong I love applesauce too but I think these two things are best off separate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this for the kids for lunch. And also used a suggestion from another review and they loved the idea of applesauce for dipping. Instead of just spreading pb on one side then apple sauce on the other, I mixed it first. I also sprinkled some cinnamon/sugar mix as well. All in all it was a good light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Copperhill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I am 66 and have been eating this all of my life.. When I was a kid and was sick my Mom would grill a crunchy PB and mayo sandwich on plain ole white bread and serve it with a glass of icy cold milk. Today whenever I make one I want to put on my flannel jammies and wool socks so I can have this extreme comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Try using apple butter - less runny - tastes great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slywlf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was an average sandwich. The applesauce was runny so I didn't use too much. I also sprinkled with cinnamon to add the the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This tasted good, but I probably would not make it again. Applesauce is a little too watery to be spread on bread, and it overpowered the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have not eaten this combination as a sandwich, but for years my husband and I have made toast with peanut butter and applesauce(that is cold from the refrigerator). Cinnamon applesauce, I might add! It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Husband ate it without complaint, but said he definitely prefers pb&j sandwiches. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Tried a variation on this using about a tablespoon of applesauce mixed with about 1/2 tablespoon of raspberry jam. Also threw on a tablespoon of raisins. Was pretty tasty but would have been better grilled/toasted with some banana. The applesauce subsitute is a great idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States