Better Help for Hamburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was pretty good as a base recipe. I added more potatoes than called for. Also seasoned the meat with taco seasoning, cumin and added green chilies along with the jalapeno. Really wish I would have had some tortillas on hand because this would make a nice filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is one of those meals I grew up on. I prefer green pepper and white or yellow onion, and if feeding kids who don't like spicy foods to leave out the fresh jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was really bland, it definitely needed some spice and more flavors. It was edible my family just dumped salt, pepper, cheese and salsa over it. I did like the combination of potatoes and beef though. If I were to make this again I would add 1-2 more bell peppers, another jalapeno some tomato, fresh cilantro, cumin and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
sounds great can't wait to try it. seems like a base recipe for everything fun everyone different likes to do:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Not my favorite recipe and I added spices, I could not immagine making without any garlic or garlic powder. I put it inside a tortilla for my toddler and it gave it a little more edible texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I really liked this recipe! I used half sausage half hamburger, added a can (drained) of corn and seasoned it with garlic salt, seasoned salt, chili powder, and salt a pepper. It was good, I cook for a crew of men.. Granted they aren't picky eaters but they all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Kansas, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I seasoned the ground beef with Worcestershire sauce and grill seasoning to add some additional flavor. Then I removed the browned ground beef from the pan and cooked the potatoes, peppers and onion in the drippings until the potatoes were tender (adding a couple cloves of minced garlic to the mix). I used mozarella instead of cheddar (only a half cup or so) and the kids couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe was good, however I made the following changes: I added 3 potatoes (6 total). I used sweet white onions instead of red. I replaced milk and jalepeno with 1/2 can tomato soup. I cooked the potatoes first, then browned the ground beef. It was very good! It's great to have an alternative to all of the preservatives and additives in the boxed version. Now to find a homemade recipe for HB Helper using noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I put taco seasoning, and sprinkled cayanne pepper on my batch too, but I wish I had still added some more spice of some sort. I thinkn I might like it a little more runny too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Gonzales
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I cooked the onion and pepper with the ground beef and added taco seasoning. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States