Better Help for Hamburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
If you try this you have to really think about how you want to spice it up. I added many seasonings to this and also ended up adding a little Velveeta for creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I cooked the onions and peppers with the hamburger so I didn't need the olive oil. Also after reading the previous review, I added garlic salt and onion powder to the hamburger too. I didn't have jalepenos, so I sprinkled in some cayenne pepper. My husband ate enough to feed 3 people. We also sprinkled the cheese on our own servings instead of mixing it in. We enjoyed. Thanks Moose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Not bad, a good recipe to use as a base and customize for your own tastes or to use whatever is on hand. I added some taco seasoning and some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SU-LI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This was awful, nobody ate it. It was bland and needed some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
While the recipe itself may be good (have not made it) I find the name very misleading. I thought it would be a recipe for a dry mix you can make yourself to replicate the over-priced store bought mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Not much taste - could use some real seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I cooked the onion and pepper with the ground beef and added taco seasoning. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I put taco seasoning, and sprinkled cayanne pepper on my batch too, but I wish I had still added some more spice of some sort. I thinkn I might like it a little more runny too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Gonzales
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe was good, however I made the following changes: I added 3 potatoes (6 total). I used sweet white onions instead of red. I replaced milk and jalepeno with 1/2 can tomato soup. I cooked the potatoes first, then browned the ground beef. It was very good! It's great to have an alternative to all of the preservatives and additives in the boxed version. Now to find a homemade recipe for HB Helper using noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I seasoned the ground beef with Worcestershire sauce and grill seasoning to add some additional flavor. Then I removed the browned ground beef from the pan and cooked the potatoes, peppers and onion in the drippings until the potatoes were tender (adding a couple cloves of minced garlic to the mix). I used mozarella instead of cheddar (only a half cup or so) and the kids couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States