Better Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Delicious! I did make a couple changes though based on what I had on hand. I did not have any cornflakes and could not get to the store, so I used crushed cheez-it crackers (the cheddar/parmesan duo variety). Also, I used only half the amount of butter and 1 egg white. Overall, the chicken was a bit salty, but I think that was because I used the crackers instead of cornflakes. If I did it the same way again, I would omit the garlic salt and replace it with garlic powder. I also cooked it on a rack placed on top of a baking sheet so the bottom would not get soggy. It worked pretty well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALLI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was good, quick and easy. All requirements in my book. I didn't have corn flakes, so used cracker crumbs. It came out a little salt, but I suspect that was my fault. I used 1/2 the butter to dredge the chicken and poured the rest over the chicken before baking. I also turned chicken 1/2 way through cooking, but didn't find it helped all that much to crisp the other side. My breasts took about 30 minutes to bake and were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I used panko bread crumbs instead of cornflakes. I used low fat mayo instead of butter to cut calories. This was easy and better than fried chicken with less mess. The cayenne pepper gave it a great kick. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This recipe is very tasty. I didn't have any corn flakes so I used bread crumbs and it still turned out great. I added some crushed red pepper for extra spice. I cooked it for 15 on one side, then flipped it over, added some more cheddar on the top and cooked for another 15 minuts. We loved it, I don't understand why noone else has tried this recipe, its worth trying. Thanks Ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I often try to keep to the original recipe as much as possible, as I immensely dislike those who massacre the original ingredients and then give it a horrible rating. In my case I did not have the cornflakes, so I did the next best that I could do and used Special K cereal instead. I really am not a fan of too much salt, so I did swap the salt for garlic powder. When it said creole seasoning, I figured I could used Bayou blast by Emeril. The only thing I probably missed was on the cheddar, I sprinkled it on top...this was tasty and I can't wait to make it again! I put a quick meal together by using a fettucini alfredo noodle packet then added in some bayou blast to give it a cajun kick, I served it w/ veggies and garlic bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These were great. I liked the shredded cheddar added to the mix. I would make these again, but I think I will try panko breadcrumbs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband and I think these are great. I did make one change however as I didn't have any corn flakes, so I crumbled up Ritz Crackers in place of the corn flakes and it came out so yummy. The bottom of the chicken (even though I flipped it half way through) was a little mushy but the top stayed crunchy. I have made these a few times since first trying this. I may one day try it with the corn flakes, but I was so happy with the Ritz that I may not. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Incredibly effortless, yet extremely flavorful. I added a bit more Creole seasoning and cayenne pepper, it had a really nice kick to it, and was very crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Enjoyed this! Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is great! I use bread crumbs instead of corn flakes and added a little more cheese as well. My boyfriend and I love this when we want to indulge a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States