Better Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My fiance just turned down a cookie, and I don't think that has EVER happened. It is either my cooking or the recipe. Since I followed the recipe exactly, except I threw in some chocolate chips, I think the recipe is faulty. Now I see that many others have agreed with me. I am just sorry that I wasted perfectly good chocolate chips and peanut butter. The cookies turned out too cakey, not peanut-buttery at all. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I wish I would have read the reviews first! I made this with my friend and her mom thought we just made up the recipe. My dog wouldn't even eat them! They taste sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I wanted to make peanut butter cookies at 10pm because I had the ingredients and some spare time, I go online and find one that seems reasonable. Stupidly enough of me, I didn't even check to see if there were reviews because I was so anxious to bake. They look all right when you take them out of the oven, the batter tasted okay too. They smelled good, I let one cool off and bit into it and it barely had any taste at all! You couldn't taste any sugar or any peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
this recipe shouldnt even get a star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I did not read the reviews first because it got a few stars and I didnt expect them to turn out as bad as they did. Too much baking soda in the batter. I tried dusting with powdered sugar but it didnt help, the amount of baking soda ruins the taste, couldnt taste the vanilla or the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
The recipe was much too creamy. It was fixed, in case anyone cares, by adding 1/2 cup more flour and 1/4 cup more peanut butter. I would still cut back on the baking soda. Use 1 teaspoon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I agree I should have read the reviews first. I had never made peanut butter cookies. I was thorough in following the recipe exactly. The cookies were not what I would call chewy, but more like spongy. My husband bless his heart ate several before confessing they had a horrible after taste. I'm not exactly sure what to do to fix the recipe and make the cookies better. Instead I turned my lemons into lemonade. I froze the cookies, and then made them into fine crumbs for a pie crust. Great as a crust bad as a cookie. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I sure wish I would have read the reviews too. This is definately not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
i have learned to read the reviews first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States