Better Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My fiance just turned down a cookie, and I don't think that has EVER happened. It is either my cooking or the recipe. Since I followed the recipe exactly, except I threw in some chocolate chips, I think the recipe is faulty. Now I see that many others have agreed with me. I am just sorry that I wasted perfectly good chocolate chips and peanut butter. The cookies turned out too cakey, not peanut-buttery at all. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I wish I would have read the reviews first! I made this with my friend and her mom thought we just made up the recipe. My dog wouldn't even eat them! They taste sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I wanted to make peanut butter cookies at 10pm because I had the ingredients and some spare time, I go online and find one that seems reasonable. Stupidly enough of me, I didn't even check to see if there were reviews because I was so anxious to bake. They look all right when you take them out of the oven, the batter tasted okay too. They smelled good, I let one cool off and bit into it and it barely had any taste at all! You couldn't taste any sugar or any peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crimson Rees

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
this recipe shouldnt even get a star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I did not read the reviews first because it got a few stars and I didnt expect them to turn out as bad as they did. Too much baking soda in the batter. I tried dusting with powdered sugar but it didnt help, the amount of baking soda ruins the taste, couldnt taste the vanilla or the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
The recipe was much too creamy. It was fixed, in case anyone cares, by adding 1/2 cup more flour and 1/4 cup more peanut butter. I would still cut back on the baking soda. Use 1 teaspoon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I agree I should have read the reviews first. I had never made peanut butter cookies. I was thorough in following the recipe exactly. The cookies were not what I would call chewy, but more like spongy. My husband bless his heart ate several before confessing they had a horrible after taste. I'm not exactly sure what to do to fix the recipe and make the cookies better. Instead I turned my lemons into lemonade. I froze the cookies, and then made them into fine crumbs for a pie crust. Great as a crust bad as a cookie. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I sure wish I would have read the reviews too. This is definately not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
i have learned to read the reviews first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States