Better Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I WISH I HAD READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE I STARTED. BUT ONCE I GOT TO THE "ADD 3 TABLESPOONS OF VANILLA" I KNEW SOMETHING WAS WRONG. THEN I WENT TO THE COMPUTER AND READ THE REVIEWS. WELL I WAS ABLE TO SALVAGE THE RECIPE. I ONLY ADDED 3 TEASPOONS OF VANILLA AND I ADDED 1 TEASPOON OF BAKING POWDER(NOT SODA) AND I DID ADD AN ADDITIONAL 3/4 CUP PEANUT BUTTER. I JUST TOOK THEM OUT OF THE OVEN AND THEY WERE PRETTY GOOD, NICE AND CRISP AND MELTED IN MY MOUTH. I MAY DO WHAT THE OTHER REVIEWER DID AND ADD CHOCOLATE TO THE TOP. I WOULD HOPE THAT ANYONE WHO READS 3 TABLESPOONS OF VANILLA OR BAKING SODA WOULD STOP AND THINK ABOUT THAT FIRST. SOMEONE CAN'T TYPE. I DO THANK THE REVIEWERS FOR BEING SO HONEST, AT LEAST I DID NOT HAVE TO THROW IT AWAY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This recipe is horrible. It has way too much vanilla and not enough peanut butter. I used almost a full bottle of vanilla. After making the first batch, which turned out like individual cakes, I threw everything away. The batter is rather good, but the cookies are horrible. Its more like a cake batter recipe than cookies. Neither my husband nor my child would eat them. They left a horrible taste in our mouths. I would definitely not recommend anyone make these, its a waste of time, money and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
if only i had read the reviews because these cookies are terrible. I was so disappointed to have wasted my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I agree I should have read the reviews first. I had never made peanut butter cookies. I was thorough in following the recipe exactly. The cookies were not what I would call chewy, but more like spongy. My husband bless his heart ate several before confessing they had a horrible after taste. I'm not exactly sure what to do to fix the recipe and make the cookies better. Instead I turned my lemons into lemonade. I froze the cookies, and then made them into fine crumbs for a pie crust. Great as a crust bad as a cookie. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
They don't even deserve ONE star. These were absolutely terrible. My three-year-old won't even eat them. He says they need washed!? I wish I would have looked elsewhere for peanut butter cookies. These are not for peanut butter lovers! Don't waste your time with these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Better butter cookies are the most awful things I've ever made and I've been cooking for over 50 years. A complete waste of ingridents. With a 3 star review one would think it would be alright to try. "DON'T"!!! You never put 3 Tablespoons of vanilla or 1 Tablespoon soda in a batch of cookies. I was off my branch to try these. Don't make the same mistake. Pinky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Yuck! I was REALLY hungry for some good peanut butter cookies. My wife and daughter weren't home so I decided to get a recipe off of Allrecipes.com and make them myself. Boy, did I ever pick the wrong recipe!!! I was in a hurry so I could surprise them and made the mistake of not reading the reviews. These cookies were terrible!!!! I followed the recipe exactly as it was printed. When my 7-year old daughter (who, of course, LOVES cookies)took one bite and then offered the rest of her cookie to my wife, I knew they were bad. My wife said, "No, Thanks" and my daughter said, "Please take it!" I'll have to agree that it was a waste of ingredients and time. My wife mentioned the aftertaste that they left. From now on I will read the reviews before trying a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
These were probably the worst cookies I have ever made. The recipe calls for 1 Tablespoon of baking soda and that was all I could taste. I questioned it but followed the recipe anyway and should have followed my gut. We threw them all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Like many of the other reviewers, I didn't read the other reviews until too late (as I ate the first cookie). They barely tasted like peanut butter! This is the first bad recipe I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aag800

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I learned that it is a must to read reviews! Don't waste your money or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States