Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I tripled this recipe to take to our church's Thanksgiving potluck. The bowl was empty and I can't count the number of requests I got for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!! I use romaine lettuce, never use celery! And always get asked for the recipe when making it for friends! Thanks Doreen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
Everyone loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGERLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Very good salad! Tip from a produce mgr: cut thin slice from bottom of read leaf lettuce, rinse lettuce in warm water for 3 min., drain upside down. Lettuce will be restored to crispness. It worked even though our lettuce was several days old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I only had "roasted garlic ceasar" almonds on hand so I used those and eliminated the step where you sugar the almonds. It still made a great salad that the whole family enjoyed. This dressing is great on a cucumber, tomato, and onion salad also. Thanks Doreen for taking the time to post the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I thought this was good but it was missing an Asian flair. The only thing really Asian about this salad was the oranges. It's very sweet and like candy. I think if I was going to make it I would reduce the sugar and add some sesame, ginger, and soy to give it more of a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I tried this recipe for a partylast year, and it was a hit. The oranges give the salad a twist and the vinaigrette was wonderfully sweet (I kept some to use it on other salads). I did not use red onions, as I am not a big fan of them. I also found that the viniagrette needed to be added at the last second before serving otherwise the lettuce gets very wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Great Salad Doreen. No complaints from my crew. Dressing could be used on a number of salads. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
This salad is wonderful. I have made it 5 times over the summer for potlucks. It is the first dish gone. With many asking for the recipe. I did follow another viewers advise to add craisins and crumbled bacon. What a great add. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
I substituted splenda for the sugar in the dressing & just added the almonds plain. The addition of mandarin oranges to the salad was a nice touch but I found the dressing way too sweet. If you like a sweet dressing though, you'll love this. I brought the leftover salad to work today with another dressing. I added chunks of blue cheese & leftover baked chicken strips & it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States