Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I tweaked this for myself and a client - used clementines, splenda, light olive oil, toasted almonds and oj. Great flavor, very refreshing and figure friendly. Chef Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCGOURMET

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Excellent taste! Recommendations: add a teaspoon or two of the orange juice from the can into the almonds when you put them in the pan. Cook on low heat and stir often for 5-8 minutes, cool quickly when they brown; they come out wonderful! I make extra to snack on later because they are THAT good! Another thing I do is soak the chopped onions first, as it reduces the OVER-ONIONED flavor and throw the entire dressing (along with the pre-soaked and drained onions) into the blender. The dressing comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I have made this salad a number of times and always get rave reviews and asked for the recipe. The trick to keeping it crisp is to wait to mix in the oranges and the dressing until right before you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I made this recipe following the directions carefully. The salad tasted good, but it was all limp and soggy. No one wanted to try it as it looked so bad! I ate some of it and what i did eat tasted good, although a bit mushy. Would look for a different recipe nex time. and I would use a different type of lettuce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckaMax

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This salad was very good - I will definitely make again. I took some of the suggestions from other reviews. Short cuts like using 2 bags of prepared salad, only 1/4 cup veg oil in the dressing, & bagged seasoned almond slices. I also added craisins and some crunchy chow mein noodles. My friends were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is one of the best salads I've tried on this site-I loved it as did my husband. Surprisingly, I loved the almonds and I typically hate them. I didn't add the celery (personal preference), used green lettuce rather than red, and halved the entire recipe. As most salads of this sort (in my opinion), it doesn't necessarily keep very well so don't toss the dressing until you're almost ready to serve. Wonderful! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Absolutely Delicious! As per prior suggestions I used half the amount of oil and a mixture of red leaf and romaine lettuce. Using bagged seasoned toasted almond slices saves a step and cuts the sweetness a bit. You may want to add about half of the dressing at first and then finish adding to taste. Even my husband ( "You are putting oranges in WHAT"? ) loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This is the best salad I ever made.My company really enjoyed it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni 77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a wonderful salad, esp. for winter. The dressing is a wonderful blend that is so tasty and compliments the fruit perfectly. I made a few changes, but nothing that affects the salad. I used toasted blanched olives, a mix of romaine and baby spinach, added cranraisins, extra oranges, and soaked the onions in water for an hour and then drained them (this helps to take the bite out of the onions.) Just a wonderful salad. Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is delicious! made it for a party and everyone loved it. wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States