Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I've made this salad several times and always receive compliments on it. I usually use baby spinach instead of the salad greens and I add craisins. I sometimes add sesame seeds, a few drops of sesame oil, and a little of the orange juice to the dressing. I will also substitute pine nuts for the almonds sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Recipe has way too much oil. Switch to 1/2 cup vinegar and 1/4 cup oil. Other than that, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I love this recipe, it's a classic. I skip the second step by purchasing candied nuts at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I made this and my family was won over by it. Especially the dressing! That has to be the simplest, most yummy dressing ever! I didnt toss the salad with it though, i let them put on as much as they wanted! everyone went for seconds, and everyone asked for the recipe. (i'm only 13!!!) My dad loved it so much, he made it at the restraunt he works at! It sold bunches.....and was put on as a special!! yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
We all loved this salad. It's great with teryaki kbobs on the grill. A new summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is the best salad ever!! I receive so many compliments on this salad and for some reason, I can never make enough of it. It's keeps em coming back for more and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
awesome salad! hint: make extra sugared almonds for the next time you crave this salad and you'll save yourself a step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
DELICIOUS! This salad was a HUGE hit at our dinner table, and I will definately make this again and again. I thought some of the reviews were hysterical ("My celery fell to the bottom" - LOL. It's a SALAD!!) Anyway, awesome dressing. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This salad was really awesome! The nuts turned out really well. I didn't have almonds so I used pecans and they tasted great. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Malon Spangenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thiensville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Yum! Add strawberries, too, if you like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States