Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Soooo good!! I did what others had suggested and reduced the amount of oil to equal the amount of vinegar. I used olive oil and red wine vinegar. I also added just a little of the mandarin orange juice to the dressing. This is a great salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I loved this! I made it tonight for BUNCO i was hosting, and everyone raved about it. The only alteration that I made was adding about 1/2 cup dried cranberries. It added some nice color variation, and the tartness/sweetness addition was really great! I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was very good base to start from but I felt it lacked substance. I added dried cranberries, onion, and crispy Chinese noodles and it made it great. 5 stars with tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very yummy. Followed other reviewers advice and cut the oil in half and I used fresh parsley instead of dried. The almonds were amazing on the salad. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Made this salad last night and my husband asked me to make it every day! It will become a staple in my house. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A little on the sweet side - really liked the recipe and will make it again, but will do something to reduce the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very easy and tasty! I didn't have apple cider vinegar, so I just used plain white vinegar, but it still tasted great. I think next time I might try some of the other suggestions about using 1/4 c of oil instead because it was a bit oily. Instead of red leaf lettuce, I just used various salad greens that I had on hand. Also, I used a white onion instead of a red onion (that is what I had on hand). I followed the other tips to soak the onion in water first. I also left out the celery becuase I didn't have any. Very tasty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
OUTSTANDING salad! Really, I was quite impressed. This would be a 5 star recipe with the one minor adjustment of reducing the amount of oil in the dressing to equal the vinegar. I also added a few Tablespoons of the orange syrup to the dressing, but I don't know that it made that much difference. I can't wait until my next dinner party. This is sure to be on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made this salad for a potluck dinner last night and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I used a combination of red leaf and butter leaf lettuce, substituted Splenda for half the sugar and used raw almonds in order to save on the calories. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States