Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I couldn't stop eating this salad! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good salad as was the dressing. I made equal parts of veg oil and cider vinegar, 1/4 cup. I added almost an 1/8 cup of white sugar. I minced up some fresh parsley and seasoned the dressing with salt and black pepper. Thou it did not call for this in the recipe, I did add the juice from the mandarin oranges to the dressing instead of draining it. Also, I only used one can (15 oz) of mandarin oranges. I placed the dressing in the refrigerator to chill. I toasted up the almonds with 1 T of white sugar as the 1/4 cup seemed a bit too much. Once the almonds were coated I removed it from the heat to cool down completely before breaking them up in pieces. I rinsed, dried and tore up bite size pieces of the red leaf lettuce. I thinly sliced up a quarter of a red onion as well as one celery stalk with the leafy green parts. The nice part of this dressing is that you can adjust the amount of seasonings to taste with room to add other ingredients to the salad. I served this with Asian Grilled Chicken and Sesame Broccoli Salad, from this website, and delicious by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
well id say this was easy....considering i did it and im a teenager who has adhd. My mother wanted me to make dinner so i found this recipe for a salad. The dressing i made tasted like dump so idk what i did there....but the green and oranges were all good hahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Nice salad, light flavor so it doesn't overwhelm the flavors of your main dish. The dressing was more than we used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Loved by all at Christmas dinner. I changed recipe slightly by adding some drained orange juice from the canned mandarin oranges to the dressing, only used half a red onion. Next time I will not bother to sugar coat the almonds as the sugar in the dressing adds enough sweetness. Half a red onion chopped is plenty. Leave the celery in 1/4 in. "half moon" segments rather than dicing or chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was the first dish to go at our Chirstmas dinner. Everyone ate it up and asked for the recipe! I did change the recipe a bit...less oil, less salt, added cranberries and only half an onion. Yummy!! This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I have made this dozens of times now and always get rave reviews! Thanks for a great recipe. It is so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I liked the salad, I would decrease the dressing by half if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Anytime we have company coming, I serve this salad. I always get rave reviews. This salad is a favorite in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Used fresh oranges and spinach instead of lettuce. Chopped up almonds before caramalizing. Turned out well. Oil can be reduced according to me...I won't miss it when reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States