Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Our family has been making this salad for a while and we love it. I always add about 8 slices of crumbled bacon and that really adds to the already great flavors. Fabulous dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Very good salad. Thank you. The only change I made was to decrease the sugar for the almonds by 1/2. This will go in my favorite salad recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I love this salad I added a few things that I like to put in my salads really the major thing is the dressing. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Awesome Salad! I did add/ change it a bit to suit my liking. I made it equal parts oil/vinegar and reduced it to 1/4 c. This kept all of the flavor and just made it less oily. Make sure you constantly stir those almonds and as soon as they are slightly brown, get them out... they can burn quickly. I recommend spraying a small dish with cooking spray to pour the almonds on and allow to cool before breaking up, otherwise, the sugar makes them stick to the surface. Recommend using 1/2 red onion- a whole onion just seems to be too much. I also added dried cranberries and used bagged green romaine lettuce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach747

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I make this salad often, using plain sliced almonds. The dressing is wonderful! Think I would cut recipe in half since there are just two of us. It makes a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
What a great salad! I made it yesterday for the Super Bowl and my mother-in-law commented that it was one of the best salads she's had in a long time. I especially liked the flavor combination of the caramelized almonds and oranges. I did use clementines instead of canned. I also cut back on the red onion. I only used about 1/4 of the onion because I think using the whole onion would have been too overpowering. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
So good!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This is one of my favorite salad's to make for showers & summer cookouts! Everyone always wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Yup. This is a great salad. I thought 1/4 cup sugar sounded like way too much so I reduced it to 1 heaping tablespoon. Glad I did. Only other changes I made was to use light olive oil and romaine lettuce. My company loved it. Oh... one other thing I would do next time is to use a little less red onion. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Really a nice salad. I used Romaine and green onions as I did not have red leaf and red onion, equally as good though. I served for a ladies luncheon with quiche and bacon wrapped breadsticks~~yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States