Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, except I doubled it and used 2 cups of chocolate chips instead of raisins. My 15 year old keeps grabbing cookies and shoving the whole thing in his mouth and running out of the kitchen....like I don't know what he is doing. Very Happy Boy! Thanks for this recipe! House smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine b/c that was what I had. Had to bake for 17-18 min @ 350 for them to get slightly brown. They were delicious! Also, slightly crunchy on the outside, but soft & moist even after they cooled. I made Lg cookies (10-12/pan). Maybe our ovens are really this different. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have followed this recipe a dozen times at least. For the first time in my 50 years of baking, I am successful at baking delicious, chewy oatmeal raisin cookies. No more bland, dry or flat/crisp oatmeal cookies. My friends and family rave over these cookies. My best advice is to follow the recipe and do not over-bake. Char
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Made it dairy-free by using all shortening and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa_Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These are fantastic cookies. At 8 minutes, they were perfect so keep a close eye on them. I used all butter and chocolate chips instead of raisins. So good, still chewy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
awesome recipe. I also experimented with it mainly because of my son's allergies. I used 2/3 cup of coconut oil and 1/3 cup of shorting. I had to substitute the eggs so I used 2 tsp of ground flax soaked for 20 min in 4 tbsp of room temp water. It worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I always get these at Subway. Now I can have at home any time. Came out perfect first time! Is now in my Favorite Cookies recipe category. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Easter
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I'm not sure what to think, the texture of the cookie is not what I was expecting. It came out moist and chewy, but it was more like a brittle texture. Hard to explain. After baking, I put the rest of the dough in the fridge to see if that would help, but it didn't. I probably won't make again, but they aren't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I added a cup of Choco chips to the batch, along with the raisins, oatmeal cookies tend to be a little to hard for my taste. Great recipe, Ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Glorious! Followed recipe except used all butter and cooked 9-10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States