Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
These cookies are delicious! Due to not having raisins or butter flavored shortening, I made substitutions on those two ingredients (craisins for raisins and butter for the butter flavored shortening), but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. My husband said they are the best oatmeal cookies he's ever had. Thanks for a great recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
The BEST oatmeal cookies I ever made :) Makes my house smell sooo delicious and my family love them! Thank you for sharing, Beth!! Yum Yum! - Caylee, WI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef.hem

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Great recipe!! Only change I made was to use all butter. Certainly will make them again. Next time I think I will try it with dried cranberries instead of raisins just to give them a little different taste. I really don't understand some of the negative reviewers who claim to be good bakers and can't get this simple recipe to work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irvin Gonzalez
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Simply amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irvin Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I make this recipe every year at Christmas. They are fool proof and fantastic!! I never liked oatmeal raisin cookies before I tried this recipe. I don't really look at the time when they are in the oven; I just keep an eye on the cookies themselves. I take them out when they look ready and they are perfect every single time. Everyone now looks forward to my cookies at the Christmas parties and get togethers we attend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I cannot eat eggs so i have never actually tried these. However, i have been making these every December for the past several years and they are always a hit especially with my kids! I never use shortening so I just use 2 sticks of butter. This year i used a ¼ cup of whole wheat white flour along with the 1 cup of all purpose flour. I also mixed in some sweetened cranberries and cut down by both sugars just a but. Still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a tale of my night, pieced together from my friends, and the contents of my counter this morning. Last night, I was a great many things; sober not among them. I admit, I did some drinking. I had had a very bad day. My fiancé was upset with me, and I was feeling like when I should have been ecstatic. Not fun. I had used this recipe before, and I enjoyed the cookies, but I'm not much of a reviewer. Last night, however, was bake night. I used to work in a bakery, and ever since I had to quit (surgery), I have had some friends over once a month for bake night. When my friends arrived, I suddenly realized what night it was. I don't remember much of the night, but this recipe was up, and I clearly used it, so here is what I know: A glaze drizzle was involved. I know that I used straight cream at first. Must have had to thin it out. I tasted what was left in the fridge and dark rum is the prime suspect. Chocolate and beer were added. Friend saw me add beer; I can't imagine adding enough to make the cookies as dark as they turned out. Currants instead of raisins. That's for sure. There's Irish cream in either the glaze or cookies; apparently I poured myself a glass and I HATE Irish cream, but will never waste booze. LOTS of spice. They are almost hot from the cinnamon. Ginger? On my counter are the following: apricot nectar, pineapple juice, Coke, pear vodka, tequila, rum, and Like a Sir e-juice. Any or all of them may have made it into the cookies. Delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
They r a gr8 twist on traditional cookies. They were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qristen Noone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deryl Sawatsky
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe has to be one of my favorites. I do think though that it could use a little more cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deryl Sawatsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States