Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I use all butter and white whole wheat flour in these. They have become one of our favorites even though I don't like raisins in my cookies. I divide the dough before mixing them in and make half with chocolate chips instead. Perfect way to compromise without two messes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! HANDS DOWN THE BEST OATMEAL RASIN COOKIE RECIPE IN MY 48 YRS OF TRYING DIFFERENT RECIPES> THIS IS MY NEW "GO TO" !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knobel, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Hubs’ birthday is tomorrow and he requested I make both chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies for him to take to work for his birthday treat. When I mentioned this particular recipe, with its unusual addition of cloves, he said he’d prefer them without because cloves are for ham. He reluctantly agreed to let me give it a try. So I did, with the cloves and using half butter, half regular shortening (I tried the butter-flavored once, long ago and didn’t like it). Both of us loved them. The cloves are barely noticeable, just serving to give a bland, boring oatmeal cookie a little kick of distinction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
These cookies are so good I cannot stop eating them! I read reviews and did some tweaking...I used 1 cup of butter as I did not have the butter flavoured shortening. I omitted the white sugar all together and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I soaked my raisins in boiling water as I prepped everything and this made them plump and soft. I used my medium size scoop for the dough and flattened them slightly. I baked them for the full 12 minutes as they were thick and they are amazingly moist! Honestly this is the best oatmeal raisin cookie I have ever had and I am trying really hard to leave some for the rest of the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great recipe, I agree more cinnamon, and nutmeg plus some English walnuts 1/2 cup or more with less raisins yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, except I doubled it and used 2 cups of chocolate chips instead of raisins. My 15 year old keeps grabbing cookies and shoving the whole thing in his mouth and running out of the kitchen....like I don't know what he is doing. Very Happy Boy! Thanks for this recipe! House smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine b/c that was what I had. Had to bake for 17-18 min @ 350 for them to get slightly brown. They were delicious! Also, slightly crunchy on the outside, but soft & moist even after they cooled. I made Lg cookies (10-12/pan). Maybe our ovens are really this different. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have followed this recipe a dozen times at least. For the first time in my 50 years of baking, I am successful at baking delicious, chewy oatmeal raisin cookies. No more bland, dry or flat/crisp oatmeal cookies. My friends and family rave over these cookies. My best advice is to follow the recipe and do not over-bake. Char
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States