Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I cannot eat eggs so i have never actually tried these. However, i have been making these every December for the past several years and they are always a hit especially with my kids! I never use shortening so I just use 2 sticks of butter. This year i used a ¼ cup of whole wheat white flour along with the 1 cup of all purpose flour. I also mixed in some sweetened cranberries and cut down by both sugars just a but. Still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a tale of my night, pieced together from my friends, and the contents of my counter this morning. Last night, I was a great many things; sober not among them. I admit, I did some drinking. I had had a very bad day. My fiancé was upset with me, and I was feeling like when I should have been ecstatic. Not fun. I had used this recipe before, and I enjoyed the cookies, but I'm not much of a reviewer. Last night, however, was bake night. I used to work in a bakery, and ever since I had to quit (surgery), I have had some friends over once a month for bake night. When my friends arrived, I suddenly realized what night it was. I don't remember much of the night, but this recipe was up, and I clearly used it, so here is what I know: A glaze drizzle was involved. I know that I used straight cream at first. Must have had to thin it out. I tasted what was left in the fridge and dark rum is the prime suspect. Chocolate and beer were added. Friend saw me add beer; I can't imagine adding enough to make the cookies as dark as they turned out. Currants instead of raisins. That's for sure. There's Irish cream in either the glaze or cookies; apparently I poured myself a glass and I HATE Irish cream, but will never waste booze. LOTS of spice. They are almost hot from the cinnamon. Ginger? On my counter are the following: apricot nectar, pineapple juice, Coke, pear vodka, tequila, rum, and Like a Sir e-juice. Any or all of them may have made it into the cookies. Delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
They r a gr8 twist on traditional cookies. They were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qristen Noone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deryl Sawatsky
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe has to be one of my favorites. I do think though that it could use a little more cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deryl Sawatsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was my first time making this recipe and they were good. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Coconut oil. Very nice, replaced the lard with coconut oil and cooked on convection 325 for 9 to 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My favorite oatmeal cookie recipe, by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gglorybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great recipe! Only changed to all butter and added some dried berries and apple pie seasoning that I made. The house smelled WONDERFUL! The cookies were pretty tasty! I overcooked slightly, not used to oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made a cookie platter for work today: chocolate chip, peanut butter, and these. In past experience, the other two flavors are always the first to go. I decided to try these, just to add some variety, and they were by far the most complimented. Men were tracking me down to say things like, "I've eaten a lot of cookies, and these were the best I've ever had". If I keep making things like this, I will be a popular girl in the office, that's for sure! Thank you so much for sharing this one - it's a keeper! The only thing I changed was to use all Butter Flavored Crisco...it's my secret ingredient in a lot of baked goods. It keeps the cookies soft and they don't fall flat when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I supervised while my niece made these. They were so easy! My niece is no baker by any means but these came out awesome! Super moist and full of flavor! She also used all butter. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States