Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice. They just aren't as good as all the ratings give them. Won't be making a third time. BTW, I did make as written both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
So YUMMY!! The perfect oatmeal cookie. They smell wonderful and are very easy to make. A keeper.... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
These are wonderful! And were a huge hit with our guests. I will forever after make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
High Altitude Alterations: use 3/4 cup packed brown sugar instead of a whole cup, add a punch more baking soda and put them on the trays in balls not pressed down. I used all butter. Bake for 9 min. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I had a HUGE bag of oats that I needed to use up, so I found this recipe with all the rave reviews (love you, Allrecipes.com!!). I didn't have the butter-flavored shortening, so I just added another stick of butter. These cookies are wonderful!! Not only in taste, but in texture: they have that lightly crispy outside and chewy inside. Heaven! Just calls for a fresh cup of coffee, hot tea, or cold glass of milk. (Listened to Traveling Wilburys while baking these). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made according to recipe except added an extra half cup of raisins. Great texture and beautiful appearance. Just too much cloves for me. I am softening another half cup of butter on the counter to make another batch and cut the cloves to one quarter teaspoon. I am a personal chef and my son's teacher wanted me to make him some oatmeal raisin cookies. I just can't send this first batch to school with my son. The overpowering cloves made me cough. I believe with that small modification this will make a very delightful oatmeal raisin cookie. I think the amount of cloves is just a matter of personal preference. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sallychia91
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
These are ridiculously delicious. I used green raisins and replaced the shortening with just butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Just ok for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I replaced the raisins with craisins. My boyfriend was impressed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
So I used all butter and my husband said they were amazing and they smelled delicious baking! Had to save this one for future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda McLean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States