Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Best Oatmeal Cookie recipe I have used only thing is my husband ate the whole batch in two day! I also used all butter and a little more cinnamon. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
These are spectacular cookies , I made these for a group meeting we had a year ago , they were getting a little down so I figured I would cheer them up a little bit and bring in some cookies as someone in the group mentioned oatmeal raisin cookies as their favorite cookie , so I whipped out my application and went to work and the next morning I brought in cookies that I had doubled the size of cookies so they were big "adult" size cookies and a year later everyone continues to talk about this recipe and continually ask when I am going to bring some in they are all trying to figure out how I make them and I tell them it is a secret little recipe that I have stashed in my head , I don't write it down just a little of this and little of that and a pinch of this and pinch of that and viola we have cookies , it is my secret weapon .......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessie
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
made these and already my family and I are in love! not as spicy as I would imagine, next time I'll add more cinnamon for flavor, but still very good. would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
We thought these were GREAT oatmeal raisin cookies. This is now my official Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using regular shortening instead of butter-flavored shortening and quicks oats instead of regular rolled. (It's what I had on hand.) I always use my Pampered Chef cookie scoop when making cookies. I used the small scoop (1 tbsp) for the first batch which made small cookies; about 2 bites and required a 10 min baking time. Then for the rest I used my medium scoop (2 tbsp) and this made nice BIG cookies. I preferred them. They needed to bake 14 min and I flattened them slightly by pressing on them with my fingers before putting them in the oven to bake. I ended up with 4 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I can't even believe how good these were. I think the clove is what made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
These were great! I used all butter and added walnuts too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My fav cookies. Only change was decreased the amnt of sugar slightly based on personal preferences. Otherwise I did it exactly to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Hands down THE BEST oatmeal raisin cookie ever!!! I made this exactly as shown and I would advise anyone else to do the same. Don't change a thing. I love oatmeal raisin cookies and this one is awesome! And for those of you saying Beth "stole" this recipe from the Quaker Oats box, well, you are WRONG!!! Hello...that's what cooking/baking is! Starting with a base recipe and changing it to make it your own recipe. I've had the Quaker Oats recipe and, even though it has some similarities, it simply doesn't compare. THIS IS BETH'S RECIPE AND IT IS THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe has become a staple for our house. When I first made it, I didn't have ground cloves, so I threw in about 3/4 tsp. of pumpkin spice instead. I continue to make them that way, they are SO good. My 18 yr old calls them "glorious cookies". I also use regular shortening instead of butter shortening. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyClem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Curlew, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
OMG!! everyone in my family loved this recipe! My husband will only eat tender, soft cookies. This definatly fit the bill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States