Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Doubled the recipe, but forgot to double the fat (was switching to all butter rather than butter/shortening combo - then only put in 1 c. instead of 2 c.), the good news, the were still great - - and with less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I FINALLY got around to making these, and yikes, I've already eaten 7 of them! I think the flavor is delicious; I personally love the cloves in this recipe. IMO, they are plenty sweet (and I even reduced the white sugar to 1/4c.). I also used all butter. They did turn out quite thin and flat but when fully cooled are a great chewy texture with a slight crispness to the edges. I used a TBS sized cookie scoop and baked for exactly 11 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Las hice con mi esposo....... quedan riquisimas..... we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
These are the best oatmeal raisin cookies you will ever make!! They are quick easy... and they taste delicious. I would highly recommend this recipe for anyone who likes a good old fashioned oatmeal raisin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The cookies turned out alright. I liked the extra spice to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The cookies are ok, a bit sweet for my liking... and maybe its me but they were too soft as well... maybe less sugar and more time in the oven and it would be a lot more suited to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Great flavor. The cookies flattened out quite a bit, but that happens to me no matter what oatmeal recipe I try, so I don't think I can really blame this recipe. When cooked for 8 minutes, they were perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Absolutely the best recipe ever, they were a hit not only with my family but neighborhood kids and school teachers.I did take few pointers from other reviewers- baked for 9 mins., added a touch of ginger, i added 1 cup pecans, mixed in the oats, pecans, & raisens into the mixture by hand. They were addicting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
So wonderful. Everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a very good recipe. As others have noted, it's nearly identical to the Quaker Oats recipe - but that doesn't mean it's not good! My changes were VERY minor: 1) I used margarine instead of the butter/shortening combo (just my preference. I use all butter when I want a crisper cookie) AND 2) I used 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice rather than the cinnamon and cloves. Other things I found helpful to make a perfect batch of these cookies: I whisked the eggs before pouring them into the butter/sugar/vanilla mix, and then blended THAT with a whisk (gently) until smooth. No hand blender. I also folded in the dry ingredients in order using a wooden spoon until just incorported. I soaked my raisins in hot water while prepping the batter (makes for a much better raisin texture/taste). I refrigerated the dough between batches, and let the baked cookies cool on the pan a minute or so to set up before moving them onto a cookie rack to cool. NOTE: This recipe works just as well with fast-cooking oats as it does with regular rolled oats. It's even good with the multi-grain oats. Adding some walnuts and even pumpkin seeds tastes great too - especially when using pumpkin pie spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States