Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
High Altitude Alterations: use 3/4 cup packed brown sugar instead of a whole cup, add a punch more baking soda and put them on the trays in balls not pressed down. I used all butter. Bake for 9 min. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I had a HUGE bag of oats that I needed to use up, so I found this recipe with all the rave reviews (love you, Allrecipes.com!!). I didn't have the butter-flavored shortening, so I just added another stick of butter. These cookies are wonderful!! Not only in taste, but in texture: they have that lightly crispy outside and chewy inside. Heaven! Just calls for a fresh cup of coffee, hot tea, or cold glass of milk. (Listened to Traveling Wilburys while baking these). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made according to recipe except added an extra half cup of raisins. Great texture and beautiful appearance. Just too much cloves for me. I am softening another half cup of butter on the counter to make another batch and cut the cloves to one quarter teaspoon. I am a personal chef and my son's teacher wanted me to make him some oatmeal raisin cookies. I just can't send this first batch to school with my son. The overpowering cloves made me cough. I believe with that small modification this will make a very delightful oatmeal raisin cookie. I think the amount of cloves is just a matter of personal preference. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sallychia91
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
These are ridiculously delicious. I used green raisins and replaced the shortening with just butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Just ok for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I replaced the raisins with craisins. My boyfriend was impressed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
So I used all butter and my husband said they were amazing and they smelled delicious baking! Had to save this one for future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda McLean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Robbins
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
The smell was amazing! The cookie dough tastes very good. They are a little thin and not as sweet as I like, but still very good. I'm sure my husband will love them dipped in milk. Thanks for the good oatmeal cookie recipe that I will file away. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Best Oatmeal Cookie recipe I have used only thing is my husband ate the whole batch in two day! I also used all butter and a little more cinnamon. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
These are spectacular cookies , I made these for a group meeting we had a year ago , they were getting a little down so I figured I would cheer them up a little bit and bring in some cookies as someone in the group mentioned oatmeal raisin cookies as their favorite cookie , so I whipped out my application and went to work and the next morning I brought in cookies that I had doubled the size of cookies so they were big "adult" size cookies and a year later everyone continues to talk about this recipe and continually ask when I am going to bring some in they are all trying to figure out how I make them and I tell them it is a secret little recipe that I have stashed in my head , I don't write it down just a little of this and little of that and a pinch of this and pinch of that and viola we have cookies , it is my secret weapon .......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States