Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Delicious! But next time I will not add the cloves. I used fresh cloves (therefore potent), and my cookies had a baking soda-type metallic after taste. I believe it was the use of cloves and not the baking soda that caused it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian MacIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Loved these!! I did not have butter flavored shortening so I used plain, also I only had old fashioned oats on hand, but still the cookies turned out great! 10min was about perfect in my oven. I think it's important to remember that sometimes environment can impact your baking. There have been times I've followed a tried and true recipe to a T but it didn't turn out that particular time. I think the cinnamon and cloves are great in these cookies. Love the flavor and texture. Adding this recipe to my cookie arsenal. I've been hunting for a really great oatmeal raisin cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I've made these cookies numerous times. Fabulous flavor and texture. Kudos to the baker!!! And thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Delicious! The cloves are a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Best cookies ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Followed exactly as directed - fabulous! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
These came out great! I used muffin tins instead of a cookie sheet to make more consistent serving sizes. I just increased the baking time to 12 minutes. If using silicone, no need to grease the muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Olds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Not that this recipe needs my rave review, but I'll give it anyway. I had no shortening, so I used all butter. Also added a handful of walnuts, just because I love cookies with nuts. Otherwise followed recipe and they turned out phenomenal! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
FLAT!! Great flavor, but FLAT cookies, though I did take advice of many other reviews and used all butter. I believe this would easily be remedied by adding 1/4-1/3c more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My new go to recipe, everyone thought they came from a bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States