Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Utterly fantastic. I followed what other reviewers suggested and used all butter and omitted the shortening. The cookies disappeared quickly, and even my health conscious, non-cookie eater dad asked when I would make them again. These will now be a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Calling all bakers! THIS IS IT!!!!! First bite and I was blown away and I CAN bake! Only modification made was the reduction of cloves to half. Thank you to the cookie genius who shared this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice. They just aren't as good as all the ratings give them. Won't be making a third time. BTW, I did make as written both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
So YUMMY!! The perfect oatmeal cookie. They smell wonderful and are very easy to make. A keeper.... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
These are wonderful! And were a huge hit with our guests. I will forever after make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
High Altitude Alterations: use 3/4 cup packed brown sugar instead of a whole cup, add a punch more baking soda and put them on the trays in balls not pressed down. I used all butter. Bake for 9 min. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I had a HUGE bag of oats that I needed to use up, so I found this recipe with all the rave reviews (love you, Allrecipes.com!!). I didn't have the butter-flavored shortening, so I just added another stick of butter. These cookies are wonderful!! Not only in taste, but in texture: they have that lightly crispy outside and chewy inside. Heaven! Just calls for a fresh cup of coffee, hot tea, or cold glass of milk. (Listened to Traveling Wilburys while baking these). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made according to recipe except added an extra half cup of raisins. Great texture and beautiful appearance. Just too much cloves for me. I am softening another half cup of butter on the counter to make another batch and cut the cloves to one quarter teaspoon. I am a personal chef and my son's teacher wanted me to make him some oatmeal raisin cookies. I just can't send this first batch to school with my son. The overpowering cloves made me cough. I believe with that small modification this will make a very delightful oatmeal raisin cookie. I think the amount of cloves is just a matter of personal preference. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sallychia91
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
These are ridiculously delicious. I used green raisins and replaced the shortening with just butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States