Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! How great to fine a recipe for these that is so good! I didn't even have the butte-flavored shortening and they were still great, tho can't wait to try them with that, too. I added pecans, just because we love pecans in cookies, but honestly, I don't think these cookies need anything extra to taste wonderful. Was hesitant about the cloves, not something we're fond of, but I'm so glad I went ahead and added it -- wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Lehman
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I used quick oats and the Pampered Chef 1.5" cookie scoop. Baking time was 10 minutes. The second batch I tried with steel cut oats, but that didn't work, so I'll stick with quick or rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
These cookies are without a doubt one the best and most fail safe cookie you will ever bake. Key to them being chewy is do NOT over bake them. 12 minutes at 350 is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddy Irwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Mmmmm. Writing this review as I stand in my kitchen, with a lovely cup of herbal tea and a couple of these amazing cookies by my side. Not too sweet, perfect spiciness ... this could be a problem. I made them for my daughter (who comes home from college tomorrow for a week) and I am thinking that there will be fewer for her than originally planned. I've been looking for tasty cookies to send to the cadets at USCGA for the day room before the holidays - these are easy, tasty, and I see many dozen on their way to appreciative cadets in the near future. THANK YOU, BETH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
these cookies taste good, but they were very difficult to get of the cookie sheet!!grease grease grease the baking sheet or all your costly ingredients will be wasted but the crumbs taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
The reviews for this recipe were proven very helpful. I took them to work one day and they were gone in one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Doubled the recipe, but forgot to double the fat (was switching to all butter rather than butter/shortening combo - then only put in 1 c. instead of 2 c.), the good news, the were still great - - and with less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I FINALLY got around to making these, and yikes, I've already eaten 7 of them! I think the flavor is delicious; I personally love the cloves in this recipe. IMO, they are plenty sweet (and I even reduced the white sugar to 1/4c.). I also used all butter. They did turn out quite thin and flat but when fully cooled are a great chewy texture with a slight crispness to the edges. I used a TBS sized cookie scoop and baked for exactly 11 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Las hice con mi esposo....... quedan riquisimas..... we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
These are the best oatmeal raisin cookies you will ever make!! They are quick easy... and they taste delicious. I would highly recommend this recipe for anyone who likes a good old fashioned oatmeal raisin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States