Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a very good recipe. As others have noted, it's nearly identical to the Quaker Oats recipe - but that doesn't mean it's not good! My changes were VERY minor: 1) I used margarine instead of the butter/shortening combo (just my preference. I use all butter when I want a crisper cookie) AND 2) I used 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice rather than the cinnamon and cloves. Other things I found helpful to make a perfect batch of these cookies: I whisked the eggs before pouring them into the butter/sugar/vanilla mix, and then blended THAT with a whisk (gently) until smooth. No hand blender. I also folded in the dry ingredients in order using a wooden spoon until just incorported. I soaked my raisins in hot water while prepping the batter (makes for a much better raisin texture/taste). I refrigerated the dough between batches, and let the baked cookies cool on the pan a minute or so to set up before moving them onto a cookie rack to cool. NOTE: This recipe works just as well with fast-cooking oats as it does with regular rolled oats. It's even good with the multi-grain oats. Adding some walnuts and even pumpkin seeds tastes great too - especially when using pumpkin pie spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It's a pretty basic oatmeal cookie, but not super great. After following the recipe just as it says, I'm a bit let down. It's just a normal oatmeal raisin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Some of the best oatmeal raisin cookies I've had in a long time! Didn't change one thing in the recipe and will not change anything. Easy enough to make...my 4 year old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
wonderful flavor, nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I personally found the cloves a bit overpowering, next time I'll reduce it to 1/4 tsp. I also made half the batch with chocolate chips added in. Not as healthy, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
the best cookie ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Cookies crumbed as soon as I took them off the pan, the 1st batch I thought I over cooked (baked 10 min) I did 9 the following batch and it was only a little better. I used all butter instead of half butter half shortening, otherwise used the same recipe. Taste was ok, not 5 star IMO. My husband and I both agree 1/2 tsp cloves is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
These cookies were Fantastic!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fantastic! Used whole wheat flour, all butter and blueberry Craisins. They are chewy and fabulous. These will be made over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADAMS4314
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
To anyone who is getting cookies that are all crumbly, slightly underbake, then leave the cookies on the cookie sheet for at least 10 minutes after taking them out of the oven. This allows them to finish cooking without getting crispy. Every cookie recipe I've tried does better with this single tip (and I've made a lot of different cookies). I followed this recipe exactly, except I used butter instead of crisco and added 1/2 tsp baking powder and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States