Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were easy to make and fantastic. They were sooo chewy. I must stress that you need to take them out of the oven a bit early. They will not look done. But they are. And then they're wonderful. They got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I found this delicious but I thought it needed more spice, if you can believe that. My cookies came out a little thin, but not too bad. They are tasty (I added about 1/4 cup more raisins, just because we love them) but slightly bland. The sweetness is right on, but next time I will add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have made these cookies about ten times now and I am so happy I have this recipe! These cookies are so tasty. You don't get sick of them because they have just a nice, wonderful flavor. Not boring at all. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Really good but made some changes. Used 1C real unsalted butter instead of butter+shortening, used 2tsp. chinese 5-spice instead of cinnamon+cloves, used orang extract instead of vanilla, and dried cranberries instead of raisins. Turned out REALLY well, nice and chewy, and the blend of orange and cranberry flavors is there but not overpowering. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
So good! I used allspice instead of the cloves cause I didn't have any. I added 1/4 tsp of ground ginger. First batch I baked at 9 min and I thought they didn't looked done so I baked second batch at 10. The first batch was done after letting them sit on the cooking sheet and turned out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
yum! loved these even more the next day! the cloves definitely did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are AWESOME! I now use this recipe always! I now omit the clove out of personal preference but these are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Perfect! Thanks, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMichelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! How great to fine a recipe for these that is so good! I didn't even have the butte-flavored shortening and they were still great, tho can't wait to try them with that, too. I added pecans, just because we love pecans in cookies, but honestly, I don't think these cookies need anything extra to taste wonderful. Was hesitant about the cloves, not something we're fond of, but I'm so glad I went ahead and added it -- wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Lehman
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I used quick oats and the Pampered Chef 1.5" cookie scoop. Baking time was 10 minutes. The second batch I tried with steel cut oats, but that didn't work, so I'll stick with quick or rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States