Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I didn't even boil the cabbage and used a raw head shredded (which keep it a little bit firm and not soggy) and used cheaddar cheese instead of american plus added shredded carrots and celery just like coleslaw. very good. i think recipe uses too much salt and you really need black pepper. next time I will use only 1/8 tsp salt and more pepper. You can add more veggies and improvise on this recipe easily. A nice variation from coleslaw and mac-n-cheese all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
What a great recipe for cabbage other then coleslaw. Everyone raved about it. I did add a few shakes of red pepper. The second time I tried it with sharp cheddar. Think we will be satisfied with mild cheddar. Also I used flavored breadcrumbs and it still turned out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I made this recipe and added onions to it. It was delicious! Excellent side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I will make this recipie again. I used cheddar cheese. I forgot if I added garlic or not, but I am thinking I did. And pepper is a must. I did use the crushed buttery crackers but left them in bigh chunks. Very yummy. My husband loved it. Mine was a little watery, so make sure the cabbage is well drained and that the sauce in nice and thick before adding it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Truly excellent! Neither my hubby nor I like cabbage but felt the need to choke some down on New Year's Day, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Heck, I may even make it some other time! I read a previous review that stated they wished they'd doubled the cheese sauce recipe so I made 1.5 x the amount and it was just great. Should have drained the cabbage better, but I didn't know any better. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. It received rave reviews in my house. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I recently tried this cabbage recipe, since I didn't have the crackers for the topping I used flavored bread crumbs. Also I added a small amount of pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the cheese sauce. This is a recipe that I will serve again. Thank-you Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Excellent. Followed the recipe to the letter. My husband and I finished it off in one sitting. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent! I prepared this almost to the letter - except I mixed the melted butter and flour together before adding milk (I added more than a cup of milk) and I just added several slices of American cheese bc that's all I had in the house. It came out great - no leftovers. A great recipe - especially because you can make it with pantry staples. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Thanks Beth. Great recipe, allows for a lot of variation. Cabbage was on special this week and I rarely buy it because I boil it and I like it but, well, it's just plain old cabbage. This recipe was more of a discovery for me, that I could actually doll up cabbage. I used 3 cheeses, equal parts (about 2oz. each) of Velveeta, Sharp Cheddar and Monterey Jack. I had some heavy cream instead of milk and topped it with the crackers. I added a little margarine to the cheese sauce too and melted it all in the microwave. I initially microwaved the cabbage too. Then I baked the assembled casserole in the oven. Easy, and the sauce was marvelous. But the concept of any kind of cheese sauce on the cabbage is one I will do over and over. I won't deduct any stars but my version wasn't, by any means, low-cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Next time I make this, I will double everything but the cabbage. We're not huge cabbage fans in my family, so the more cheesy crumbly topping, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States