Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I didn't even boil the cabbage and used a raw head shredded (which keep it a little bit firm and not soggy) and used cheaddar cheese instead of american plus added shredded carrots and celery just like coleslaw. very good. i think recipe uses too much salt and you really need black pepper. next time I will use only 1/8 tsp salt and more pepper. You can add more veggies and improvise on this recipe easily. A nice variation from coleslaw and mac-n-cheese all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
What a great recipe for cabbage other then coleslaw. Everyone raved about it. I did add a few shakes of red pepper. The second time I tried it with sharp cheddar. Think we will be satisfied with mild cheddar. Also I used flavored breadcrumbs and it still turned out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I made this recipe and added onions to it. It was delicious! Excellent side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I will make this recipie again. I used cheddar cheese. I forgot if I added garlic or not, but I am thinking I did. And pepper is a must. I did use the crushed buttery crackers but left them in bigh chunks. Very yummy. My husband loved it. Mine was a little watery, so make sure the cabbage is well drained and that the sauce in nice and thick before adding it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Truly excellent! Neither my hubby nor I like cabbage but felt the need to choke some down on New Year's Day, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Heck, I may even make it some other time! I read a previous review that stated they wished they'd doubled the cheese sauce recipe so I made 1.5 x the amount and it was just great. Should have drained the cabbage better, but I didn't know any better. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. It received rave reviews in my house. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I recently tried this cabbage recipe, since I didn't have the crackers for the topping I used flavored bread crumbs. Also I added a small amount of pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the cheese sauce. This is a recipe that I will serve again. Thank-you Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Excellent. Followed the recipe to the letter. My husband and I finished it off in one sitting. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent! I prepared this almost to the letter - except I mixed the melted butter and flour together before adding milk (I added more than a cup of milk) and I just added several slices of American cheese bc that's all I had in the house. It came out great - no leftovers. A great recipe - especially because you can make it with pantry staples. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Thanks Beth. Great recipe, allows for a lot of variation. Cabbage was on special this week and I rarely buy it because I boil it and I like it but, well, it's just plain old cabbage. This recipe was more of a discovery for me, that I could actually doll up cabbage. I used 3 cheeses, equal parts (about 2oz. each) of Velveeta, Sharp Cheddar and Monterey Jack. I had some heavy cream instead of milk and topped it with the crackers. I added a little margarine to the cheese sauce too and melted it all in the microwave. I initially microwaved the cabbage too. Then I baked the assembled casserole in the oven. Easy, and the sauce was marvelous. But the concept of any kind of cheese sauce on the cabbage is one I will do over and over. I won't deduct any stars but my version wasn't, by any means, low-cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Next time I make this, I will double everything but the cabbage. We're not huge cabbage fans in my family, so the more cheesy crumbly topping, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States