Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Thanks Beth. Great recipe, allows for a lot of variation. Cabbage was on special this week and I rarely buy it because I boil it and I like it but, well, it's just plain old cabbage. This recipe was more of a discovery for me, that I could actually doll up cabbage. I used 3 cheeses, equal parts (about 2oz. each) of Velveeta, Sharp Cheddar and Monterey Jack. I had some heavy cream instead of milk and topped it with the crackers. I added a little margarine to the cheese sauce too and melted it all in the microwave. I initially microwaved the cabbage too. Then I baked the assembled casserole in the oven. Easy, and the sauce was marvelous. But the concept of any kind of cheese sauce on the cabbage is one I will do over and over. I won't deduct any stars but my version wasn't, by any means, low-cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Next time I make this, I will double everything but the cabbage. We're not huge cabbage fans in my family, so the more cheesy crumbly topping, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I love cabbage. It is always great to discover a new recipe, especially one that tastes as great as this one. I used red cabbaage just for the extra color but I'm sure any cabbage will do nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This is an good recipe. A little on the bland side, but you can add some seasoning to spice it up if you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This came out very well. I did change it a little though, I used cheddar cheese and it was very good. Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
This recipe turned out alot better than I thought it would. Like many others, I've been trying to find recipes for cabbage. I also used shredded mild cheddar instead of processed. It turned out really good and my husband ate almost the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Used cheddar/jack cheese instead b/c it was all I had and it turned out great. Even the cabbage haters at the party ate it and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Good basic recipe though I recommend the following changes in order to make it come out DELICOUS. Use real cheddar cheese instead of american cheese. Use toasted bread crumbs instead of ritz crackers. The crackers were mushy. Using these changes, the cabbage was delicious, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Wow, this was great. I added a little more cheese than the recipe called for and it turned out terrific. Thank you for a wonderful variation on cabbage. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This is a good dish. My hubby does not like cabbage, but he ate this. For our family of five, we had enough leftovers for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States