Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
A touch bland until I added another 1/3 cup cheese and a dollop of sour cream. Good as written, better with the less healthy additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very Very Good! I drizzled butter over the top and spread panko bread crumbs and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
four stars, as written, it's a little bland. But it is a great base recipe to work with... I added a large sautéed leek, 2 cloves garlic, and 1/2 cup of chopped celery leaves to the sauce. (I grow my own leeks and celery and garlic and cabbage!). I roughly chopped the cabbage and steamed it in the microwave until hot and semi tender, about 12 minutes, then drained it. There wasn't much liquid though. Since my cabbage was large instead of medium, I doubled the sauce ingredients, and used bacon grease for half of the butter, for added flavor. added leeks and celery and garlic, sautéed it till tender, added the flour and browned it for a few minutes, then added the milk and made the sauce. Poured it all in layers in a 9x13 pan. Omitted the cheese because it had a great flavor already. used one teaspoon of salt since I wasn't using cheese and 1/2 t black pepper. topped with bread crumbs and baked until golden brown and bubbling. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
need to shred cabbage better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
good....but I recommend do not boil or steam cabbage use raw and cook 1/2 hr at 350 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leasa
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Cabbage is so good for you that I am always on the lookout for new ways to cook it. This is kind of bland as written. Do not forget to add at least one onion-two would be better. Needs more pepper and salt to give it more flavor. Personally-I dont think it needs the cheese because it kind of takes away from the cabbage flavor but I like cabbage so that being said, This would be a GREAT starter for someone to does not like or has never tried cabbage. Boiling the cabbage for 10 minutes-makes it kind of limp. Also it garlic would be great to add a little flavor to this also. It is not the most pretty dish-kind of flat looking but next time i am going to shread a little carrot and dice up some celery to add color and bring more flavor to it. It is a good base recipe. You could do a lot with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
hubby loved it. I thought it was a little bland. next time im going to load it with browned onion and garlic. maybe bacon on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This a great dish. I did not cook cabbage first. I just cut it up and put it in the baking dish. Did as directed on sauce but I use a 8oz block of mild cheddar cheese instead of american cheese. I topped with plain panko bread crumbs. Baked until top browned. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rvanhoy72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made some changes to this recipe. I added 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 Tablespoon mince dried onions, 1 tespoon dried basil. and 1/2 C sliced mushrooms to the cheese sauce. I used a Mexican shedded cheese blend instead of American cheese, in sauce. After mixing cabbage and sauce, I place them in a greased - sprayed baking pan. I put whole wheat bread cubes - made from toasted bread cut into tiny cubes- on top, then top the whole thing with another2/3 C of the Mexican shedded cheese The finished dish was tasty and had a nice crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I think this is a great basic recipe. However, to me it only deserves 4 stars. To make it 5 star worthy it definetaly needs some adjustments. There is no right or wrong way to fix this recipe. You don't have to listen to me & make it step by step the way I did. I suggest that you try it & play around with the ingredients to make it to your own preference. Again, I really do think this recipe as stated is fine, but to make it GREAT here are a few things I would suggest. 1. Use a large head of cabbage. 2. Make sure the water is at a rapid boil before you put the cabbage in & then only boil for 5-7 minutes (or it will be over cooked by the time it comes out of the oven). 3. Make sure you drain as much of the water out of the cabbage as you can. If possible, during the time you're making the cheese sauce let it stand in colander & drain longer. 4. Use 1/4 tsp (or less) salt. You can subsitute garlic salt or you could also use garlic cloves. 5. Use REAL sharp or mild cheddar cheese, or even colby jack or pepper jack. (Try any combination, just make sure you use REAL!) 6. Increase cheese to 1 - 1/2 C, also sprinkle a little extra on top. 7. Increase milk to 1 1/2 C (use more or less to make it as thin or as thick to your liking). 8. Omit the buttery round crackers & use crushed saltine crackers (don't forget to reduce salt!) Hope this helps some of you! Don't get discouraged if you've made this before & wasn't happy, make some small changes & try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States