Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Sorry, but there was no one who really liked this. I thought it was ediable if doused in S&P. I don't know why (b/c we love cabbage) but we didn't care for this and I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Great cabbage recipe. As suggested by other reviewers I skipped boiling the cabbage and used a combination of American cheese and Monterey Jack and it came out great. I also added a little chopped onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I didn't even boil the cabbage and used a raw head shredded (which keep it a little bit firm and not soggy) and used cheaddar cheese instead of american plus added shredded carrots and celery just like coleslaw. very good. i think recipe uses too much salt and you really need black pepper. next time I will use only 1/8 tsp salt and more pepper. You can add more veggies and improvise on this recipe easily. A nice variation from coleslaw and mac-n-cheese all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
What a great recipe for cabbage other then coleslaw. Everyone raved about it. I did add a few shakes of red pepper. The second time I tried it with sharp cheddar. Think we will be satisfied with mild cheddar. Also I used flavored breadcrumbs and it still turned out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I made this recipe and added onions to it. It was delicious! Excellent side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I will make this recipie again. I used cheddar cheese. I forgot if I added garlic or not, but I am thinking I did. And pepper is a must. I did use the crushed buttery crackers but left them in bigh chunks. Very yummy. My husband loved it. Mine was a little watery, so make sure the cabbage is well drained and that the sauce in nice and thick before adding it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Truly excellent! Neither my hubby nor I like cabbage but felt the need to choke some down on New Year's Day, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Heck, I may even make it some other time! I read a previous review that stated they wished they'd doubled the cheese sauce recipe so I made 1.5 x the amount and it was just great. Should have drained the cabbage better, but I didn't know any better. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. It received rave reviews in my house. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I recently tried this cabbage recipe, since I didn't have the crackers for the topping I used flavored bread crumbs. Also I added a small amount of pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the cheese sauce. This is a recipe that I will serve again. Thank-you Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Excellent. Followed the recipe to the letter. My husband and I finished it off in one sitting. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent! I prepared this almost to the letter - except I mixed the melted butter and flour together before adding milk (I added more than a cup of milk) and I just added several slices of American cheese bc that's all I had in the house. It came out great - no leftovers. A great recipe - especially because you can make it with pantry staples. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States