Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was good---Like Mac-&-cheese, but with cabbage. I thought I had ritz crackers but I didn't so I used Italian bread crumbs in place and it was delish. (Chedder instead of American) The sauce did get a tad watered down (Water from the cabbage, I'm guessing) so I think next time I'll give my cooked cabbage a little squeeze with some paper towel before transferring to casserole dish. This will be made again, Im sure, as my 3 oldest kids (aged 4-10)gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe. Very quick and easy to make. Everyone enjoyed it, even those who aren't much of cabbage eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
It's plain-jane mac and cheese, but with cabbage instead of mac. Tastes fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My Mother made this for years. We double the sauce, add Velveeta instead of American Cheese and crush potato chips on top. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My husband is a huge fan of cooked cabbage and this was a great, easy recipe that the entire family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Pretty good. I substituted the cheddar cheese with feta, which is my favorite. I also used olive oil instead of butter and it turned out great. I thought the recipe called for too much cabbage, but other than that no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I really liked this but my husband didn't hence the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was pretty good. I salted and peppered it before baking, but it still needed more pepper at the table. I didn't use as much cabbage but made the full amount of sauce, and it was a bit too much sauce for us. The kids (14,7,5)all made faces but hubby and I thought it was okay. I may make this again as an alternative to our favorite stewed cabbage. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I love this dish, it's so rich and cheesy. My mom made this when we were growing up and it was so good it got all us kids to eat cabbage! I double the sauce recipe, including the cheese, and add a little garlic powder. Also, I use lots more crushed crackers for the topping and drizzle them with liquid margarine. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
We thought this was so-so. My family said it wasn't as bad as they thought it would be, but it was very bland. I found myself shaking a lot of salt on, and I'm not usually one to add salt to my food at the table. I had a lot of leftovers, and I doubt it will get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States