Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
It's plain-jane mac and cheese, but with cabbage instead of mac. Tastes fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My Mother made this for years. We double the sauce, add Velveeta instead of American Cheese and crush potato chips on top. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My husband is a huge fan of cooked cabbage and this was a great, easy recipe that the entire family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Pretty good. I substituted the cheddar cheese with feta, which is my favorite. I also used olive oil instead of butter and it turned out great. I thought the recipe called for too much cabbage, but other than that no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I really liked this but my husband didn't hence the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was pretty good. I salted and peppered it before baking, but it still needed more pepper at the table. I didn't use as much cabbage but made the full amount of sauce, and it was a bit too much sauce for us. The kids (14,7,5)all made faces but hubby and I thought it was okay. I may make this again as an alternative to our favorite stewed cabbage. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I love this dish, it's so rich and cheesy. My mom made this when we were growing up and it was so good it got all us kids to eat cabbage! I double the sauce recipe, including the cheese, and add a little garlic powder. Also, I use lots more crushed crackers for the topping and drizzle them with liquid margarine. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
We thought this was so-so. My family said it wasn't as bad as they thought it would be, but it was very bland. I found myself shaking a lot of salt on, and I'm not usually one to add salt to my food at the table. I had a lot of leftovers, and I doubt it will get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Not bad. Came out pretty good. I used crushed regular pringels because it was all I had. Made the kids really want to try it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
ok you may be leary to try this recipe, but do it. i wasnt sure of it at all, but its really good. my head of cabbage was a little too small, so there was a little too much sauce for me. my hubby loved it. if your family loves cheese, youve got to try this one. it would be so easy to sneak in other veggies with the cabbage, like onions or squash. this would be excellent with yellow summer squash chopped up in it. very good. although i did have to add a touch of cayenne and some pepper. it is VERY important to use american cheese. it makes it smoothe and creamy and not stringy and sharp like cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States