Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was good and something a little different for us. I didn't cut my cabbage into wedges, but instead I quartered the cabbage and then sliced it about 3/8" thick. I steamed it covered in my largest skillet for 2 min., then stirred and steamed covered for another 2 min. I doubled the sauce, used sharp cheddar and panko tossed in a little butter. Added a little parsley to the crumb mixture for color. I made this early in the day, covered and refrigerated it without the crumb topping. Because I had refrigerated it, it took probably 40 minutes to bake and then I slipped it under the broiler to give the crumb topping a nice toasted appearance. This is something a little different to do with cabbage, so give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I never knew cabbage could be so good! Made with plain soy milk and was still delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I wasn't sure about this at first, but it turned out fantastic! It reminded me of broccoli and cheese, which I love. I added some diced green chilis to mine for a little spice but other than that I made as is. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
this is a great side when you want something cheesy but still want to get your veggies in. after reading reviews i finely shredded my uncooked cabbage w/ a carrot early in the morning. then rinsed it all in a colander and let it drain and dry out in the fridge. i sauteed some onion in the butter before i made the roux and added caraway, nutmeg, garlic, and some hungarian paprika since i was in the mood for hungarian tonight. a perfect side for Stuffed Peppers For Two. next time i will throw in a vinegar beet salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe is wonderful!! We grew huge heads of cabbage last summer in our garden and I discovered your recipe and have made it several times. It's now a family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was ok, but it was lacking in the flavor department. I even subbed seasoned bread crumbs for the crackers. We like cabbage, so I might try this again, but I'd probably add garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
OMG, this was wonderful!! I did take the advise of another member and did not boil the cabbage. I sauteed it with a bit of onion and garlic, then added S&P to taste (lots of pepper). Put it in the dish, and made the sauce in the same pan. Then mixed it well, covered with seasoned bread crumbs (didn't have crackers) and baked. This is a keeper!! Husband loved it, as did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Not the healthiest but definitely great!!! I substituted sharp cheddar for the American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Not bad, but not great. Thank goodness I used seasoned, Italian bread crumbs in place of the crackers (none on hand) It was pretty bland...added pepper as some suggested. The crumb-topping gave it the most flavor. Very willing to try again, but will add more seasonning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I drained the cabbage for awhile to remove as much moisture as possible. I also used saltines instead of buttery rounds, (I think it would have been too "sweet" otherwise.) This was my first time cooking cabbage, and I can't wait to cook it again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States