Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made some changes to this recipe. I added 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 Tablespoon mince dried onions, 1 tespoon dried basil. and 1/2 C sliced mushrooms to the cheese sauce. I used a Mexican shedded cheese blend instead of American cheese, in sauce. After mixing cabbage and sauce, I place them in a greased - sprayed baking pan. I put whole wheat bread cubes - made from toasted bread cut into tiny cubes- on top, then top the whole thing with another2/3 C of the Mexican shedded cheese The finished dish was tasty and had a nice crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I think this is a great basic recipe. However, to me it only deserves 4 stars. To make it 5 star worthy it definetaly needs some adjustments. There is no right or wrong way to fix this recipe. You don't have to listen to me & make it step by step the way I did. I suggest that you try it & play around with the ingredients to make it to your own preference. Again, I really do think this recipe as stated is fine, but to make it GREAT here are a few things I would suggest. 1. Use a large head of cabbage. 2. Make sure the water is at a rapid boil before you put the cabbage in & then only boil for 5-7 minutes (or it will be over cooked by the time it comes out of the oven). 3. Make sure you drain as much of the water out of the cabbage as you can. If possible, during the time you're making the cheese sauce let it stand in colander & drain longer. 4. Use 1/4 tsp (or less) salt. You can subsitute garlic salt or you could also use garlic cloves. 5. Use REAL sharp or mild cheddar cheese, or even colby jack or pepper jack. (Try any combination, just make sure you use REAL!) 6. Increase cheese to 1 - 1/2 C, also sprinkle a little extra on top. 7. Increase milk to 1 1/2 C (use more or less to make it as thin or as thick to your liking). 8. Omit the buttery round crackers & use crushed saltine crackers (don't forget to reduce salt!) Hope this helps some of you! Don't get discouraged if you've made this before & wasn't happy, make some small changes & try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is delicious! (and I'm not a great fan of cabbage) As suggested, I drained the cabbage in a colander while I whipped up the béchamel. I used the aged cheddar I had on hand instead of American, and since I didn't have enough crackers I added some Panko crumbs to them. Yum, yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This needs a little work. I think the directions should have the cabbage shredded into strips as opposed to wedges to speed up boiling time. The sauce was decent, though it could stand to be increased by half. Also, this needs seasoning other than salt. I added ground black pepper and some mustard powder. I used marble cheddar for this, but I'd recommend a purely yellow cheddar in the future. Some sliced onions and minced garlic wouldn't hurt here either. Also, I found the topping unnecessary. It was nice to have a side without rice/potatoes, but next time I may do half each cabbage and potatoes. Served with "Cheesy Pork Chops with Spicy Apples" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a yummy recipe! A big hit with the extended family...the children that usually turn their noses up at cabbage enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yates Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great recipe! I will be serving this one again and it is going in my Favorites folder! I modified my recipe slightly... 3 tbs flour, 3 tbs butter, 1 3/4 cups Milk and 1 1/2 Cups packaged shredded Cheddar Cheese. In the Cheese sauce I added 1/2 tsp Garlic powder and 1/4 tsp White pepper. Then to top the casserole I lightly covered it with Panko bread crumbs then sprinkled it with French's French Fried Onions. I could have eaten the entire Casserole!!!! I will serve this again, Thanks for the recipe it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I followed others ideas and sauteed the cabbage w/some garlic first. Then made the sauce in the same pan after placing cabbage in the casserole dish. I used American slices, Italian bread crumbs and a few saltines crushed up. It was just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This dish was AWESOME!!! I fixed for New Year's day since we traditionally have cabbage for New Year's. This takes the plain ol' vegetable to new heights. This is what I did: (1) Cut a medium-size head of cabbage and boiled it for about 7-8 minutes and drained it for at least 2 hours (so the dish wouldn't be watery.) (2) Chopped a medium-sized onion and sauteed that in 2-3 tablespoons butter then I made a roux (3) Added the milk (I used at least 2 cups) and added cubed Velveeta and also added some pepper and garlic powder. (4) Sprayed a 9x13 baking dish with cooking spray and put in half the well-drained cabbage, poured half the chedder cheese sauce over the cabbage and sprinkled some shredded Cheddar cheese over. Then I put the rest of the cabbage on top and poured the rest of the cheese sauce and covered with shredded cheese and bread crumbs. (5) Covered with foil and baked for 1 hour at 350 degrees. My husband has even asked me to make it again. I will definintely make this every New Year's and many times during the year. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Foley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
this was just okay. we found it kind of tasteless and uninspired. probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Perfect just the way it is! But I also love it because it's so versatile, I can add just about anything. Veggies or meat. Made this for my best friend who is really picky and she ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States