Beth's Peach-Nectarine Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This recipe is a jewel of a recipe--I've made them twice now using nectarines only. It's like eating a muffin with peach preserves on it, only better. I made some minor adjustments after reading previous reviews: My medium sized nectarines were a little tart & not ripe enough, so I made a chunky puree in my food processor then adjusted the milk to 2 or 3 tablespoons instead of 1/3 cup--I would recommend not adding the milk until you see how liquid the batter is after adding your fruit. Additional ingredients: another 1/4 cup brown sugar for a sweeter muffin, which I prefer, 1 t cinnamon, 1/4 t nutmeg, 1 T vanilla. Also mix just until ingredients are moistened, don't overmix. I made 12 muffins, added a streusel topping of brown sugar, flour, butter & a sprinkle of cinnamon the first time, then just the sprinkle of brown sugar the 2nd time--it really only needs the brown sugar sprinkle. These would also be good with fresh summer peaches, but liquid content would need adjustment. Thanks Elizabeth, these are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This is an excellent recipe once a few adjustments have been made. I used some of the previous suggestions and added a couple of my own. Instead of 3/4 c. white sugar, I used 1/2 c. white and 1/4 c. brown sugar. I added 1 t. vanilla, 1 generous t. cinnamon and 3/4 t. nutmeg. I baked them in mini muffin cups for 13 minutes in the highest oven rack. It made 34 minis. Very moist and very peachy. I only had peaches so I used 3 medium peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
These muffins are absolutely delightful! I used all (very ripe) nectarines (no peaches),and added a touch each of nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla, which really brought out the fruit flavor. The brown sugar topping has a wonderful crunch when the muffins are just out of the oven. They taste just as good after being frozen as they are fresh. I suggest doubling the recipe (which I did), because you will definitely want more of these treats. This is a perfect way to use those extra ripe peaches and nectarines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I doubled recipe and used 2 peaches and added 1 tsp vanilla. TIP: Drop peaches in pot of boiling water and skin can easily be removed. I topped with brown sugar and walnuts. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
These are excellent. I've read a few of the reviews that said the muffins were bland. POPPYCOCK! I believe those reviewers used peaches that had a low sugar content or were not sufficiently ripe. Made with good peaches and nectarines, I could eat these muffins every day for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian the Kitchen Ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I really enjoyed these muffins. I used 5 small nectarines as I had no peaches. Also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and a dash of cinnamon in the dry ingredients. Two other people tried the muffins and really enjoyed them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
The muffins were very light, but did not have an intense peach-nectarine flavor. Very bland. I also think that I might have added too much of the nectarine-peach combo. The muffins were *too* moist for me. One nectarine and one peach yielded 3 cups of fruit for me. It would be helpful to have measurements for the fruit, because sizes and amounts will vary. Thanks for the opportunity to have tried something new, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
These muffins are delicous!To make them healthier I used applesauce instead of butter and 2 egg whites instead of 1 egg. I will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
We really enjoyed these, a truly summery muffin recipe. I made some changes following others' suggestions, though: Used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white, substituted half the vegetable oil with apple sauce to lower the fat, and added two teaspoons of freshly grated ginger (I love the combination of ginger and peach)... Awesome. I think the original recipe would have been a little too plain for me as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Delicious and easy... I added a healthy dash of cinnamon but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States