Beth's Peach-Nectarine Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I'm a novice baker and found this very easy to make. I used 5 small, very ripe nectarines and took the advice of others by adding 1 Tbs cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 Tbs vanilla. I also added 1/4 cup of oatmeal and waited to add the milk until after I mixed everything together. The batter was so moist that I ended up only using 1/4 cup of milk. It made 12 muffins (in a cupcake tin). It seems like the recipe is pretty forgiving, so next time I'll try other people's advice of making it healthier by mixing whole wheat flour and oatmeal along with apple sauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I used nectarine only. Made 12 servings. I add cinnamon, nitron and vanilla. I don't have muffin tray so I baked using bread loaf tray. This is the first time I made muffin and I don't have background for baking. I bake for 50 minutes at 200 C. My father-in-law and my husband loves it, and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
So I have to admit I don't follow this recipe as is. The biggest change I make is that instead of fresh fruit, I use a Del Monte fruit cup - the mango and peach kind - scooping out all the fruit and adding the syrup into the batter until it's got the right consistency. It probably makes the muffins much sweeter than with actual fruits, but I've got a sweet tooth, so I like them just fine. The other changes I make are to substitute 3/4 cup white sugar with half white, half brown, and to add a teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon; and I skip the milk, using the syrup for the same purpose instead. Using the fruit cup really makes this recipe so convenient - I've made it four times in two months already! Plus I love that it uses vegetable oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Yum. I used 1 nectarine and 1 peach and didn't bother to peel them. They are extremely moist - maybe I underbaked them a little. But the flavor is great! A little heavy on the baking powder, maybe. I might cut back on that a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I was browsing through the Daily Recipes when I came across this one. Good thing, too, because I had several ripe peaches and nectarines I'd been wanting to use. Easy to make and has a light taste. Not overpowering. I added a tsp. of vanilla to the batter, that was the only thing I changed. These will be good to stick in the freezer for my husband who drives a truck and often is running late and dosen't have time for a hot breakfast. I think next time I might add a tsp. of nutmeg or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Yummy! I had tart nectarines that I used with this recipe. 5 small ones, to be exact. I sprinkled in a little cinnamon, a little drizzle of vanilla and skipped the brown sugar topping. They were delicious and even made 15 muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Great receipe-my favorite muffins to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Very moist. I used canned fruit. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I didn't follow the recipe exactly - but I guess that's what we do on this site! I used 3/4 cup whole wheat and 3/4 cup white flour, added 1/3 cup ground flax, increased the milk to 1/2 cup, and added 1 tsp vanilla. i used 2 peaches that weren't that sweet so I added about 1 tablespoon sugar to the diced peaches before mixing into the batter. I didn't top the muffins with brown sugar at all. These are best when they are completely cooled, or even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Great recipe. I used 2 peaches instead of the nectarine. I also made 6 Texas size muffins instead of 8 regular size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States