Beth's Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MCBARTKO
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've made this recipe several times now and have never left a review much to my embarrassment. THESE ARE FABULOUS and can be made as-is, with the exception of doubling the frosting recipe (we like ours with a lot of frosting!) My great grandmother was the Orange Cookie Queen and used to guard her recipe like a government secret... no one else's cookies ever turned out like Great's! Great passed away at the age of 97 in 1992 and never fully revealed her recipe to any of us. I tried this recipe a few years ago and OMG, I thought they were Great's cookies reincarnated... only MUCH easier to make because the recipe has been updated with modern conveniences like sour cream (instead of souring your own) and frozen orange juice concentrate (instead of squeezing your own and working like mad to balance the liquid-dry ingredient ratio.) Beth, my family LOVES this recipe and whenever I make these cookies, the "remember when" stories start flying. Thank you for such a delicious, easy-to-make recipe that brings a warm, nostalgic feeling to my heart... and a yummy satisfaction to my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBARTKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I love this recipe and I love Beth Sigworth. When I finish rating this cookie, I'm going to search the site to see if I've missed any of her recipes. Every one that I've tried has been fabulous. Thanks, Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Excellent, soft orange cookie. I used fresh orange zest for maximum orange flavor. I also used an orange-flavored cream cheese icing rather than the glaze; I love the richness of the cream cheese with these cookies. A wonderful change from the old standby cookie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies are delicious - but this recipe is NOT your creation. My grandmother made these for me when I was little and the recipe has been handed down in our family. Unless you're 100, please tell the truth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A Lovely Orange cookie that needs a nicer name... How about "Orange Blossoms"!!! The frosting is sweet - I'll make it less so next time, but these cookies are definitely a "make again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These are so good. The cookie is like a little orange cake, but the frosting is what makes these so delicious. The frosting really adds the orange flavor to these cookies. I only made a third of this recipe and ended up with 27 cookies. They lasted about 3 days and were starting to get a little gooey, so I think if you don't have a lot of people to eat these right away, you may want to cut the recipe down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Ehhhhh - this recipe is ok. The frosting is the STAR of this recipe. The cookies themselves are a bit bland. Very cake like, but not sweet enough. I'll try it again...maybe add more orange juice concentrate to the cookie dough or use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made them for my dad. He said Gram used to make them . . . he said they were better! GREAT orange flavor to them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Wow! Yet another great cookie recipe from Ms. Segworth. I made a regular batch of cookies and put chocolate chips in half. Great either way. I doubled the recipe for the frosting (great recipe by the way) on the advice of others...not sure what they're doing with all that frosting as I had enough left over to paint my house. Again....great, GREAT recipes. Thanks Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I went online looking for a recipe just like my grandma's, as hers is lost, and saw this one. Since my name is also Beth, it seemed like a message from my late grandma that this was the right one :) They taste just like hers -- fantastic! I would recommend doubling the frosting, however. I also might try using butter instead of shortening the next time, but they are great just like this, no changes needed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States