Beth's Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! Delicious cake-like cookie with irresistable icing. I am ashamed to say I ate six at one sitting!The only change I made was with half butter, half shortening versus all shortening. If you are looking for a wonderful cookie for friends to share (so you don't eat as many as me!)this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthfulOne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A Lovely Orange cookie that needs a nicer name... How about "Orange Blossoms"!!! The frosting is sweet - I'll make it less so next time, but these cookies are definitely a "make again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These cookies remind me very much of the soft sugar cookies my grandmother used to make. The very 1st time I made them I was trying to find a recipe for orange cookies for my then boyfriend (now husband). He had a neighbor who used to make orange cookies when he was a child and he loved them, he loved this recipe and is after me to make them all the time, they are his favorite that I bake. To twist this recipe for other family members I have also made them as Lemon cookies, just replace the orange juice and zest with lemonade and lemon zest, nice soft lemoney cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingdaffodil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I would like to give this recipe 4.5 stars, but I can't so 4 it is. I halved the recipe and only made the cookie part. Then I threw in a cup of dark chocolate chips as I was actually looking for an orange and chocolate chip cookie recipe. I didn't have orange juice concentrate so I used double the zest and ordinary orange juice - I will probably triple the zest next time to get a bigger kick of orange. From the half batch I got exactly 4 dozen cookies - not knowing how much they would spread I was careful to use just a teaspoon of dough for each cookie. But they didn't spread very much and actually rose. They are quite pretty, but also rather cakey, which is where they lose the half star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Oh no! I don't know where I went wrong, but these cookies did not turn out. They spread thin as a pancake and burned very easily. I really wanted this recipe to turn out for my Mother's Day tea. I scaled the recipe in half and did attempt to salvage the batter by adding more flour and baking soda. We got one tray of decent cookies, but it was all downhill after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
AMAZING - these cleared out in a matter of hours and the recipe makes 72 cookies...really good, both frosted and unfrosted. The frosting is really zingy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
These cookies are absolutely delightful! Thank you so very much Beth for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Wonderful. I agree that the frosting is really the star of the show here, but the cakey cookies are the perfect vehicle for the frosting. I had to triple the frosting recipe to have enough, and I added a teaspoon of orange extract to the cookie dough (just because I had it on hand). Another great recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
These are perfect with a glass of orange juice on a summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minipastrychef15

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Thank you for this recipe. I used to make them years ago but I lost it. I tried another soft orange cookie posted and it did not come close to this recipe. They are moist and very flavorful. I will begin to make these again year after year. You will not be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States