Beth's Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Made these for church. Everybody loved them. They are a very cake like cookie. I agree with another reviewer who said you cannot add to much grated orange rind to the dough. I did have to double to frosting recipe as it was not enough to frost the massive amount of cookies this recipe makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Kind of like a half-moon or black & white cookie, only orange flavored. I always add a lot more zest than called for, and that worked well. Also used an orange cream cheese frosting. They are beautiful cookies and so very tasty. Well done, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
These are such amazing cookies!!!!!! I couldn't stop once I started eating them though, seriously addicting!!!! Kinda like orange coffee cake, great with your tea or coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it for a New Year's Eve cookie swap and everyone loved them. I also made extras for work and they were a hit. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These cookies are tremendous or as my son would say "they're bomb"! I made them and froze them for Christmas and once they thawed they were just as good as they were the day they were baked. Everyone loved them and they were gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is great! I followed it with one exception... I'm partial to butter so I used 1/2 C butter & 1/2 C shortening. Used a small cookie scoop and got six dozen cookies with just the right amount of frosting to get them all. A must make & eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made these this CHRISTMAS Morning. THEY WERE DELICIOUS. THE ICING WAS A BIG HIT. THEY WERE A LITTLE MORE CAKIE THAN I USUALLY LIKE MY COOKIES, BUT WITH THE ICING THEY WERE GREAT. DELICIOUS WITH MILK OR ICE CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Light, fluffy, and very sweet. MMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Tuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCBARTKO
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've made this recipe several times now and have never left a review much to my embarrassment. THESE ARE FABULOUS and can be made as-is, with the exception of doubling the frosting recipe (we like ours with a lot of frosting!) My great grandmother was the Orange Cookie Queen and used to guard her recipe like a government secret... no one else's cookies ever turned out like Great's! Great passed away at the age of 97 in 1992 and never fully revealed her recipe to any of us. I tried this recipe a few years ago and OMG, I thought they were Great's cookies reincarnated... only MUCH easier to make because the recipe has been updated with modern conveniences like sour cream (instead of souring your own) and frozen orange juice concentrate (instead of squeezing your own and working like mad to balance the liquid-dry ingredient ratio.) Beth, my family LOVES this recipe and whenever I make these cookies, the "remember when" stories start flying. Thank you for such a delicious, easy-to-make recipe that brings a warm, nostalgic feeling to my heart... and a yummy satisfaction to my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBARTKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Great cookies .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States