Beth's Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by BLONDIENEG
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
WOW! Thanks for another excellent recipe Beth! For years I have been trying to find an orange cookie recipe that was like my ex's grandmothers' and this one is WAY better! I love icing, so I followed the suggestions of some of the prior reviewers and doubled the icing. MISTAKE! There was more than enough icing just as was written. I should know better than to try and "improve" one of Mrs. Sigg's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These were terrific! I wouldn't change a thing on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My hubby had been begging me to find a recipe for orange cookies ever since he had some at a potluck. This recipe was easy and tasty and just what he was hoping for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These were ok. My MIL has a recipe similar to this which I've made and I made these to compare/contrast. With this recipe, I found it a bit difficult to stir in the OJ and zest after I had already put in the flour. It would be easier if that step was done earlier, like when the eggs/sour cream/vanilla get added (as is done with my MIL's recipe)? Also, I agree with those who said the frosting is more like icing. I even added an extra cup of powdered sugar and it was still pretty liquid-y. Also, I found this icing WAY too tart. My MIL's recipe calls for only 1 1/2 teaspoons of OJ and 2 teaspoons of zest and it's a much mellower, happier orange flavor, not "slap you in the face with orange"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
EXCELLENT!! These cookies are so simple to make and they taste great. I substitute butter for the shortening and add about 1/4 cp of extra flour. Very good recipe -- highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Wow, talk about a great orange cookie. My aunt makes Orange Macadamia ones over the holiday, which are really yummy, but the nice thing about these ones is they are a lot less expensive to make. Don't make any changes to anything, because this recipe is perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We liked these cookies. I added a little extra OJ concentrate to get a little more orange flavor. They were very soft, a little spongy, and cakelike. Next time I'll add some pecans. I'd like to experiment with making Key Lime or lemon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
beth, your cookies were superb! i am not a good baker, and I made these yesterday to take to a party...and everyone treated me like a rock star. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fenelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These are amazing! It's a nice change from the usual chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States