Beth's Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Got a big "Mmm!" from my husband! The cookie and frosting really complement each other making it a nice, sweet, but light flavor. I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla to the icing since I love the "orange julius" type of flavor. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My aunt made this cookie when I was a child Fifty years ago. She did not leave the recipe with anyone. I looked for years for a similar recipe. This is the best there is. My children and friends beg for me to bake these very special delights. They are well worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These are so good. The cookie is like a little orange cake, but the frosting is what makes these so delicious. The frosting really adds the orange flavor to these cookies. I only made a third of this recipe and ended up with 27 cookies. They lasted about 3 days and were starting to get a little gooey, so I think if you don't have a lot of people to eat these right away, you may want to cut the recipe down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These were good, very different. They're like cupcake cookies. If you sliced the top off a cupcake and added frosting, then this is what these would taste like. They firm up a little bit more though. There's good yield in this recipe and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I remember these from my childhood. Mrs. Bluestone (neighbourhood grandma) used to make them for all the kids.... Tender, cakey, orangey...just delicious. The only modification I made was to swap the sour cream for yoghurt, but only because I'm more likely to have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezChelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was good cookie base. I divided it 3 ways: with mini choco chips, with macadamia nuts and lastly, with macadamia nuts and shredded coconut. I liked the mac nut and coconut combo the best. I didn't make the glaze and I think I should have so it would taste more orangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe my husband and I made together. He is the real taste tester of the family. This turned out better than the ones his mom makes. The flavoring couldnt get any better.If you loke the taste of orange this is the cookie for you. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Tried these as a Christmas cookie and the family really liked them. These are cake-like, as I have found with any cookie that has sour cream in the batter. The yield on this recipe is correct...I got 6 dozen cookies! The frosting however, I had to triple because it wasn't nearly enough and I wasn't over-frosting, mine looked just like the ones in the picture. Next time I'll probably half the dough recipe and double the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: North Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
YUMMMMMYYYY these cookies are light and refreshing in a sea of sweet cookies; the icing only needs 1 tablesspoon of orange zest. and if you can mix the canned zest with REAL orange rind, what a difference.. REFRESHING.. love this cookie. Merry Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made these a few yers ago and now they want them every year for christmas. I go between 4 & 5 cups flour so there's more orange flavor & you definately need to double the icing .But they are the best orange cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States