Beth's Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
It's one of the most wonderful cookies, ever. I've been making candied orange peel a day before, and added a fair amount of it to the cookie dough, plus some of the orange syrup that was left after straining that orange peel. I bake very rarely, but these came out AMAZING. I suggest doubling all the measurements for the frosting recipe, it yielded very little and double the amount was just right. There is only one word to describe these cookies. Noms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this cookies without frosting, and we really love them. I added a bit more flour, so I guess they turned out a little firmer than in the original version. Next time I'll try it the way it's written. I will certainly be making more of these cookies :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Rookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made them for my dad. He said Gram used to make them . . . he said they were better! GREAT orange flavor to them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My mom had a recipe for Orange cookies that were delicious..I lost the recipe and since she has passed I have looked for years for a recipe that was even similiar...I finally found it!!! Thank you Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I went online looking for a recipe just like my grandma's, as hers is lost, and saw this one. Since my name is also Beth, it seemed like a message from my late grandma that this was the right one :) They taste just like hers -- fantastic! I would recommend doubling the frosting, however. I also might try using butter instead of shortening the next time, but they are great just like this, no changes needed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Pretty Good! As others have mentioned, the cookies themselves are not very orange-y. I add a teaspoon or two of orange extract to pump it up a bit. Rather than ice these cookies I dip them in dark chocolate (also with orange extract). They are SCRUMPTULESCENT! I didnt have any shortening so I used butter instead, otherwise folllowed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Thank you thank you thank you!!!! I had a family recipe for orange cookies but lost it, boy am I glad I did!!! This recipe by far is the best!!! They are moist, flavorful and just YUMMY!! If I could give this more than 5 stars I would!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Absolutely best orange cookies. I made 4 dozen, ready for my incoming company, my family finished off 2 dozen before company arrived, now back to the kitchen. I didn't have frozen orange juice, so used some fresh oranges on hand. Also I had no sour cream on hand, used canola mayo/organic butter mix. Cookies came out super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekid67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies are delicious - but this recipe is NOT your creation. My grandmother made these for me when I was little and the recipe has been handed down in our family. Unless you're 100, please tell the truth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Got a big "Mmm!" from my husband! The cookie and frosting really complement each other making it a nice, sweet, but light flavor. I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla to the icing since I love the "orange julius" type of flavor. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States