Beth's Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
First of all: Do not double the recipe! I didn't realize how much dough this would produce and had to transfer the dough from my stand mixer to a larger bowl (silly me). I made these last year and they were excellent! This year, however, things didn't turn out quite right. They were a little too biscuit-like (they should be lofthouse soft). The icing will salvage them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
4.3.14 The attraction to this recipe was the flavor, not it being cakelike. To help with that, I reduced baking powder to 1t. 'Still very cakelike. I wonder if this is really a cake recipe pretending to be a cookie. I used 1/2c butter & 1/2c shortening. Since some reviews said the cookie itself was on the bland side, I added orange extract, 2t. The orange flavor was noticeable, but not overpowering or artificial tasting. 'First time using orange extract. It's like liquid orange lollipop. No joke. Okay, orange soda without the fizz. Either one. :) I doubled the frosting as suggested, too; but didn't need it all since I just drizzled, didn't cover. About 1 1/2 frosting recipe would be fine. Since so thin, I played with it by adding more than just sugar since it was getting to be like liquid confectionary sugar. :/ I liked the frosting, more like icing, better than the cookies. After "playing," I liked this combination. It's taste is orange extract at first then the zing of the concentrate after. I liked it anyway. :D Here y'are: 1/4c orange juice concentrate, 1/2t orange extract, 1/4t vanilla extract (more than that would cover the orange, I think. Maybe less in the cookies would help, too.), 4 - 5T butter (less than 6T, which I what I used), 2c confectionary sugar, pinch salt. 'Got a reluctant "okay" from boy one. Girl one wouldn't try. She's a fresh, uncooked fruit girl most times. 'Sure the people at work will like. They'll eat anything. Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I've been looking for this recipe for years I had one similar and lost it.The cooking time is right on this is supposed to be very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I tried these today and they are GREAT! My son and I felt they were too soft, so I cooked each sheet 16 minutes. They were just getting brown on the edges. We both felt they were much better cooked longer. Thank you Beth for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These were very good without the icing, but knocked out of the park with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
These were amazing. A very light cake-like cookie with a great flavor. They were delicious at every stage, fresh from the oven, frosted, and even several days later. I followed the recipe exactly. When it came to the frosting there were only a few cookies that I didn't have enough to frost (although, I suppose there would have been more if I hadn't eaten so many while they were warm). The recipe does produce a lot of cookies so be prepared to share and then have several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
made these today !! They are wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Beth, I've been making your recipe for a long time. A luscious cookie and actually easy to make. Sorry, I had to disagree with a couple of negative reviews, this wonderful recipe has always been a winner with me (and those who eat them!). Just got done making a double batch, will bake tomorrow.Thanks again for these little gems. (By the way, your recipe works really well with concentrated lemonade & lemon zest!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
my childhood favorite. we make it every christmas, and by the time we frost them we go through half the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These are heavenly! I accidentally left the butter out of my first batch of frosting and I prefer it that way. Much thicker and it holds to the cookies better. You will probably need more frosting than called for to cover the entire batch of cookies. I had to double the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States