Beth's Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This was definitely an easy recipe to prepare. However, I found that the top gets too brown when you cook it for an hour. I would suggest covering the top with aluminum foil to prevent this. I had hoped the final result would be a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Is this recipe using condensed milk or evaporated milk. In the summary states condensed, but in recipe states evaporated. Used this recipe with the evaporated and seemed to be runny after cooking. Let it cook for another 20 minutes and filling was thicker, but was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I was a little nervous when making this pie because I never seen or heard of it before, but the ingredients are what peaked my curiousity & of course my Grandmother's confirmation that it's old favorite. Well it was truly delicious. I made 2 for Thanksgiving. Instead of using all Vanilla Extract, I added 1/2 Tblspn. of Vanilla Extract & 1/2 Tblspn. Lemon Extract. Next time I won't preheat the oven too long, there was too much spilling over & I'll use a deep dish pie crust. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
this recipe is great Chess pie is my favorite now since I can no longer eat Pecan pie because of a denture problem. I just made three of these at one time. Happy eating ahead@ Beth I love your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Recipe was super easy to follow and the result was delicious! I used a Keebler shortbread pie crust (the ready made) instead of the unbaked pie crust and it worked just fine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Just like I remember as a kid! I brought this little taste of the south to Denver and it was a winner! Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merbear024
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was delish! I had never had Chess Pie but my husband requested it. It's so easy to make and the custard center was smooth and creamy. Loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merbear024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
JUST MADE THIS PIE, I MADE A FEW MINOR ADJUSTMENTS AND IT TURNED OUT GREAT! I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE THIS PIE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCANADY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Can't go wrong with this recipe. Good Stuff. This is the 4th recipe I've used to make chess pie and this one is the best IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was great! My first time making it, super easy. I suggest using a deeper pie pan thought to avoid any spillage. I had to cook it a little longer than an hour and I let it cool for a bit to have it set. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States