Beth's Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I'd never heard of a Chess Pie but saw it while looking at reviews for Sugar Pie. I made one last night and I am pretty sure the Sugar Pie recipe will go behind this one. Oh my gosh, it was perfect. Hubby has a sweet tooth and this made his day. The only thing I did different was to use milk because i didn't want to open a large can of evap. milk. It didn't seem to hurt it any. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Excellent recipe! This is definitely a keeper.I found out it needs an extra 15 to 20 minutes more on bake time for firming the center of pie.Other then that it's the best I've ever tasted. KUDOS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was great! My first time making it, super easy. I suggest using a deeper pie pan thought to avoid any spillage. I had to cook it a little longer than an hour and I let it cool for a bit to have it set. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Can't go wrong with this recipe. Good Stuff. This is the 4th recipe I've used to make chess pie and this one is the best IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
JUST MADE THIS PIE, I MADE A FEW MINOR ADJUSTMENTS AND IT TURNED OUT GREAT! I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE THIS PIE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCANADY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Photo by merbear024
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was delish! I had never had Chess Pie but my husband requested it. It's so easy to make and the custard center was smooth and creamy. Loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merbear024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Just like I remember as a kid! I brought this little taste of the south to Denver and it was a winner! Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Recipe was super easy to follow and the result was delicious! I used a Keebler shortbread pie crust (the ready made) instead of the unbaked pie crust and it worked just fine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
this recipe is great Chess pie is my favorite now since I can no longer eat Pecan pie because of a denture problem. I just made three of these at one time. Happy eating ahead@ Beth I love your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I was a little nervous when making this pie because I never seen or heard of it before, but the ingredients are what peaked my curiousity & of course my Grandmother's confirmation that it's old favorite. Well it was truly delicious. I made 2 for Thanksgiving. Instead of using all Vanilla Extract, I added 1/2 Tblspn. of Vanilla Extract & 1/2 Tblspn. Lemon Extract. Next time I won't preheat the oven too long, there was too much spilling over & I'll use a deep dish pie crust. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States