Best of the Best Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
These are verry good but I'm only giving it four stars since the "to die for blueberry muffins" are slightly better. I made both recipes on the same days and they turned out almost identical in flavour. However, the "to die for blueberry muffins" recipe had a thicker batter resulting in rounded muffin tops whereas this recipe is thinner so as it was rising the batter spread out more so the muffin tops were flatter. Vanilla is a nice addition to either recipe, and I would strongly recommend using only fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
every year my family loves this recipe. to make the buttermilk - 1/2 cup milk add 1/2 tablespoon of white vinegar and let stand for 5 minutes. easy to make and always comes out great. This year I substituted 3/4 of splenda for the sugar. Nobody complained. Everybody loves them. They are great muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
These are the best blueberry muffins. This is the exact recipe that I have been using for years except that my recipe called for 1/2 cup milk instead of the 1/2 cup buttermilk. I tried it with buttermilk and found that since nobody tasted the difference, why buy buttermilk unless you are going to use it for other recipes. I ended up throwing out the leftover buttermilk since the smallest container i could find was the quart size and i only needed 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I really wish I could rate this four and a half stars. It's ALMOST there. I cut the sugar back to one cup, added a tsp. of vanilla and used half blueberries/half blackberries. Really great muffin. The sugar topping made the muffins look like bakery muffins. I really didn't use a lot, just a tiny sprinkling over each muffin. Really, really good. I think adding a little lemon rind would really take these over the edge. NOTE: I actually baked these at 400* for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
absolutely wonderful! i had to make some changes: i used 1 tsp lemon juice with remainder milk to make the 1/2 c buttermilk, i used 16 oz bag of thawed blueberries. i think that was more than it called for. i crushed 1/4 of them and put the rest in as the recipe called for. instead of the sugar on top, i used the following from another recipe: 1/2 cup white sugar 1/3 cup all-purpose flour 1/4 cup butter, cubed, melted 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon mix and add before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Thanks to all who have given these muffins such nice reviews. The secret to having any fruit stay suspended throughout your muffins is dusting the fruit with a small amount of the flour called for in the recipe. (Just like you do in this recipe) I,like many reviewers, almost always use powdered buttermilk. Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bird Island, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These were not "The Best" blueberry muffins and in fact I was a bit disappointed with these. I was expected something really good especially with the amount of blueberries and buttermilk in the recipe. However, even after adding 2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter I found these to be overly sweet and a bit on the bland side. I baked these in Texas sized muffin cups lined with paper liners and topped the muffins with turbinado sugar before popping them in the oven. I baked them at 400 for 23 minutes. And, while they baked up nice and big the flavor just wasn't there.... I think I'll stick to my TNT recipe "Blueberry Cream Muffins" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I thought these muffins had a very nice flavor. There were a few too many blueberries for my taste, though. Next time I'll put in half the amount. One suggestion I do have: if you *really* want them to have a crumb topping, you need to sprinkle more than just sugar on top. Make a mixture of 1/4 cup sugar, 2 Tablespoons of flour and 1 Tablesppon of butter. Mix it all together and top the muffins with that instead before putting in the oven -- YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
Don't change a thing! Baked up fluffy, moist, like a cake!! A doubled recipe filled 24 x-large paper muffin cups generously to 2/3full and they were large and perfect. Wow!!! After YEARS of searching for a perfect muffin recipe, THIS IS IT! I used a stand mixer and just kept it beating merrily away! Who would have thought THAT with a muffin recipe?! Oh, JOY, oh, Bliss...this is heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I agree, these ARE the best!! My modifications; no buttermilk on hand so subbed regular 1% milk with a sqeeze of lemon juice in it, did not crush berries, added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon lemon zest, and sprinkled raw turbinado sugar on the top instead of white sugar. I'm don't have a huge sweet tooth yet I kept coming back to these taking a small piece of a muffin - before I knew it the muffin had disappeared b4 my eyes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States