Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very good recipe for black bean burgers, hence the four stars, but I think I’m about to give up my quest for bean burgers and admit that we just don’t like them that much, which is not a reflection on this recipe at all. I did expect the recipe to be a bit spicier and flavorful than it was, but I used a lot more bread crumbs, well over a cup, and cut back on the cumin, so maybe that is why. I once made a recipe that called for a lot of cumin and it didn’t agree with me. At six servings, the cumin in this recipe is one-half teaspoon per burger. Also, the burgers were huge. Which was fine, just FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I actually cooked these in a nonstick pan and used used about an eighth cup more breadcrumbs and they were fine. The smaller ones were easier to flip and were more firm than the bigger patties, so I'd recommend keeping them smaller if you cook these like this. The taste was pretty good, but I agree with another reviewer that it would be better as a taco filling. The texture just wasn't quite right to be a burger to me. But I will definitely try this as a taco filling or a topping for nachos. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I was excited to try this recipe but was disappointed. The only thing I tasted was the ground cumin, which had a very strong taste that I did not like. Would not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I absolutely LOVE these veggie burgers...they are great with a homemade spicy mayo. As a person just beginning to cook vegetarian this was an easy burger to put together, and it tasted fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I did not care for this......tasted like I was eating beans. Will not make again. I'm not a vegetarian, but am trying to find alternatives. This just didn't taste good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These were great burgers! I followed the recipe exactly except for putting 1 can black beans and 1 can garbanzo. I thought the flavor of the seasoning was good. I gave 4 stars because of the consistency and the yield amount. The patties were very soft so I added 1-1/2 cups of bread crumbs instead of the 1 cup so that they would hold up nice. Also, I doubled the batch because I was making these for a get together and I ended up with 22 burgers!! I only needed 12. So the rest are going in the freezer. The adults liked the burgers, but none of the kids did. All in all it's a good recipe and I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
very salty, I would definetely decrease the garlic salt by at least half if I were to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
OMG THESE WERE AMAZING I AM A MEAT EATER BUT I HAVE BEEN DOIN A 31 DAY FAST AND THOUGHT TO GIVE THESE A TRY.. MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVED THEM EVEN THE LITTLE KIDZ THEY WERE A BIG HIT IN THIS HOUSE TONITE.. I ADDED IN SOME CREAM STYLE CORN ON ACCIDENT THOUGHT IT WAS REG. CORN!!! LOL!!! BUT I WILL COOK THESE AGAIN FOR SURE..... THANKS A MILL.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss gee-gee
Home Town: Conley, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is one of the BEST burger recipes I have made!! I read a lot of the reviews before I made these and noted that a lot of people said they did not hold together well. I did not want to add a lot more bread crumbs like many people had to do because that meant more calories and I am on a diet so this is what I came up with and it worked great. For starters, I sauteed the peppers, onions and mushrooms in a little olive oil then added them to the beans. Secondly, I found that instead of putting everything in a food processor, mash the beans by hand so you get a courser mix not mush. Lastly, I formed them into patties and put them in the refrigerator for a few hours before cooking. The result was a veggie patty that held together great. I did cut down on the cumin and chili pepper as others suggested as well. All in all, it is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
YUMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by profit414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States