Best of Everything Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
These were the best veggie burgers I've ever tasted. I did not use as much chili powder & hot sauce as the recipe called for. I used a little more breadcrumbs. The only thing missing is a zingy topping sauce. I tried mixing plain yogurt, cumin, garlic & lime. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Okay I royally screwed up somewhere. The green peppers were a were a dominating flavor that I didn't like and the spices were weird afterwards. and it all tasted off. I used a little food processor, could have just chopped them, but. I also used a george foreman grill 'cause it's quick, but they stuck and didn't cook all the way through, I think change the spices to what you like and fry it in a pan for tacos or burritos, but I think I also didn't really like the rice too, probably all beans would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
It came together a little wet even though I kept adding bread crumbs. I was afraid to make them dry by adding too much bread crumbs but I think it's fine because I don't want a dry burger. The flavor is great. I adjusted the heat to my liking and didn't end up adding the hot sauce. Maybe I'll be more adventurous next time. The recipe ended up yielding 12 burgers. I cooked them in a frying pan about 7 minutes per side, until golden brown on medium heat. They were about 1/2" thick and I cooked them in a little oil. If you make them too large (I first attempted making them to fit a regular bread slice) they are hard to flip because they break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Didn't like them much, my husband hated them. They were really dry, I followed the recipe exactly other than I cooked them on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I don’t know what I did wrong but the burger fell apart and I could have made like 8 or 9 not 6 and I had to cook it twice as long ,the taste was really good ?? 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great veggie buger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made this a few days ago, with only two changes to the original recipe - granulated garlic in place of the garlic salt, and oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. I did end up needing quite a bit more oatmeal to get it to stick together. I first tried frying them with Pam, but they stuck horribly. The taste was pretty good and the consistency was fine once I'd cooked them long enough. It was my first veggie burger, and both my kids and I liked them well enough to eat them throughout the week. I saved half the mixture and am baking them now. I've baked them on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet for about 15 minutes at roughly 375* so far (my oven isn't very accurate, so you may need to experiment with this). When I flipped them just now, they stayed together perfectly and looked much better than the pan-fried attempt. They also looked much less 'mushy,' so this cooking method improves the consistency as well. I also have to agree with the reviewers who said this recipe should make far more than 6 patties. I'm using a 1/2 cup measuring cup and a quarter of the recipe came out to 3 1/2 burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These were good, but I did have trouble keeping the patty together. Since it was cold, we didn't grill them but tried to bake them in the oven. It took much longer than 20 minutes. I ended up using some of the leftover bean mixture and cooking it over the stove top like pancakes and it cooked much quicker. It also made more than 6 servings, more like 10-12 servings. The leftovers the next day were crumbly so I heated them up and ate it in large lettuce leaves. It made an awesome filling for these makeshift lettuce wraps. I thought it tasted better than the day I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susierunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I didn't care for these. I had high expectations after reading the reviews, but was disappointed. I thought the kids would detest them, but two of my kids actually gobbled them down. The burgers could have used more salt. This was the first time I made veggie burgers and thought it was great to not worry about the raw meat, getting them to the right temp etc., so I will search for more recipes. Oh, I cooked these in the grill pan on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Oh my this was sooooooo good, its better warmed up... I would only add more seasoning... other than that I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States